Banana-Strawberry Bread

Standard

I must say, I have had a very productive morning.

I already hit the gym (it was arm day), did some lumosity to keep my brain sharp, and I still had some time to kill before I had to leave for work, so I decided to put the browning bananas on my counter to use and make Banana-Strawberry Bread! I made some changes to this recipe, and it came out scrumptious!

Banana-Strawberry BreadThe problem I usually seem to run into with banana bread is that the outer edges tend to be done much quicker than the inside, so I wind up having to sacrifice some outside bits in order to not have a goopy inside. If anyone has any tips to eradicate this I am all ears and eyes!! However, although in the picture the edges look a bit browned, they didn’t taste burnt at all, which was such a pleasant surprise! Score one for the home team.

What’s Inside??
1 cup all-purpose flour (use whole wheat if you can, I just didn’t have any on hand)
1 cup almond flour (quinoa flour is also a great alternative!)
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup fat free greek yogurt
2 room temperature eggs
2  ripe bananas (lightly mash/break up before adding)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup strawberries (hull and slice)

Let’s Bake It!
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease loaf pan and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, combine flours, baking soda and sea salt, set aside.
3. In separate bowl (stand mixer if you have it), beat butter on low until pale and light (~3 minutes). Add in sugar, beat, then mix in the eggs one at a time. Next, add bananas, yogurt and vanilla. Finally, fold in the flour and then strawberries, mixing until just combined. Some berries can be saved for top as well.
4. Pour into pan and bake 60-70 minutes/until a toothpick poked in the middle comes out clean.
5. Cool for 20 minutes, then remove from pan and cool another 40 minutes before serving.
6. Enjoy!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

