Garlic: The Onion Gen{i}us

Standard

Bonjour,

It’s been a minute since I’ve posted some juice recipes. Lately, I’ve been on a kick where I am looking out for my skin. I’ve  been purchasing all natural, locally made face washes and skin moisturizers, and it seems only logical to translate this ideal to what I ingest. You are what you eat, right?

Garlic seems to be a crucial ingredient in juices when nourishing the skin is concerned. Below are two that I came across. I know they may not be the most appealing ingredients, but it’s way cheaper and less painful then various other procedures!

(1) GARLIC VEGETABLE JUICE

  • 1 clove fresh garlic
  • 5 carrots
  • 1 large tree broccoli
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 large bunch kale

Peel the garlic and juice along with the rest of the veggies. I would recommend juicing garlic first, so that the rest of the ingredients clear the garlic scent from your juicer.

(2) GARLIC APPLE JUICE

  • 1 clove fresh garlic
  • 2 apples (Granny Smith)
  • 1 bell pepper (Red)

Peel the garlic and juice along with rest of ingredients. Again, probable best to juice the garlic first.

*NOTE: You may think you can handle more than one clove of garlic, and I 100% bet that you can. However, stick to one. It’s the ideal amount to have in one day.

Now, let’s table about why garlic is so awesome, especially when eaten raw. Better yet, when juiced. I know it may not smell that magnificent, but it really is worth the stink.

Fun Fact: To reduce garlic breath, try wrapping garlic cloves in greens when juicing, such as spinach or cilantro. It would appear that chlorophyll binds to the stinky smell; because science.

~ Garlic has an anti-microbial effect, which also helps the immune system.
~ Garlic is an excellent source of vitamins, including A, B-complex, and C. It also supplies minerals such as manganese, phosphorus, calcium, copper, potassium, and iron.
~ Garlic contains anti-oxidants, which helps neutralize free radicals in the body.
~ Garlic contains amino acids, essential oils, and trace minerals including germanium, selenium, and tellurium.

Additionally, it has been mentioned in literature that garlic helps (but does not cure) the following disorders:

  • Common Cold (helps relieve congestion)
  • Thrombosis (garlic acts as an anti-coagulant)
  • Cholesterol (reduces build-up of plaque in arteries)
  • Diabetes (lowers blood sugar levels)
  • Fungal Infections (ex: athlete’s foot or ear infections)
  • Peptic Ulcer (it’s good against the bacterial stomach parasite that causes the ulcers)
  • “Wind” (small amounts can help relieve gas in stomach
About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

