Little Exercises

Standard

Well hello, beautiful humanoids.

I’ve been busy as a bee lately, forgive me. I know I still owe London pictures, and maybe this week I will accomplish that feat. Right now though, my eyes are drooping and I think bed is my next step. Before I knock out for the evening, I wanted to wish everyone who lives in America a very happy Fourth of July! Celebrate that independence, yo. Pretty interesting timing considering Brexit and all.

Also, I would like to share some exercise tidbits I picked up today whilst unsuccessfully attempting to clean out my many inboxes. E-mails are a plague at times, I swear! I would like to also recommend you fine folks give hot yoga a try. I’ve been going at least once, sometimes even twice (!!!) a week for almost a month now and I feel freakin’ fabulous. I’ve been working in regular yoga, too, and encourage that for those of you who aren’t ready to bring the heat (yet).

Anyway. After working out, I get stiff. It happens. There are methods to take to ease that stiffness, and here are some recommendations that I have:

1) stretch
2) soak
3) gentle movements
4) massage
5) foam roll

Foam rolling feels pretty awful when you’re doing it, but I promise you it’s worth it. I’m going to do more video research and find the best ones for you guys to use as a reference.

Finally, here are some unique little ways to exercise during the day without actually working out:

  1. While prepping for the day (ex: brushing teeth) do balance exercises such as standing on one foot or if you’re really ambitious and awesome, do some squats!
  2. Power walk everywhere instead of walking at a normal pace. Not only will you burn calories, but you will look damn important.
  3. If you take the bus or train, get off a stop early and hoof it the rest of the way.
  4. If you drive everywhere, park far away from your destination. Give those legs a good stretching.
  5. Take the stairs. Elevators are for sissy’s.
  6. If you’re at work during lunch hours, leave your desk. Walk somewhere to grab or lunch or just take a brisk walk before sitting down to eat your packed lunch.
  7. Only make phone calls when you are in motion.
  8. While waiting for dinner to cook, use your kitchen counter as a barre and do some exercises.
  9. When in the grocery store (or any store), basket > cart. Biceps!
  10. Wait in the longer line at checkout and during the wait, do some calf raises.
  11. Wash dishes by hand sometimes. Not only will this save energy, but it gives those arms a workout, too.

Okay my dears, that’s all I’ve got for now. Stay wonderful and remain safe during the Holiday! xoxo

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

