Summertime Shindigs

Standard

Bonjour!

I hope everyone had a wonderful 4th of July and three-day weekend. I worked yesterday… but it was my own decision, so I can’t really complain. Plus, I managed to work in some sun time and firepit time regardless so let’s call it a win.

I’m just taking a quick work break, therefore this can’t be a long post, but I thought I would jot down some of the Summer Events I have been attending since I got back from London (hard life, I know…), as well as a few upcoming ones in case anyone is interested.

  • 2nd Annual “Hi Neighbor!” Block Party (6/15/16). Given the name, you can’t attend this until next year, but it was a good time and I recommend you at it into your calendar. It was a statewide free block party held at The Steel Yard, which is a great location I never knew about. Food and beers and other beverages were available and they encouraged you to picnic, so Kyle and I went with a blanket and basket in tow and we just ate and listened to the Reggae band that was playing. Great success.
  • 5th Annual Incredible Ice Cream Throwdown (6/26/16). Yes. You read that right. A lot of my friends have been asking me lately how I find these things and the truth is, I’m not really sure. However, you guys get to reap the benefits since I pass it all along to you! Albeit, too late for this one. I brought my bestie Mandy and basically, this event was a beerfest, for ice cream. You get in and have 2 hours to taste as many ice creams from various vendors as you can stomach. It was located outside at the Eye Institute. It was a wonderful time but my two complaints were 1) not as much shade as we were expecting… hellllooooo it’s ice cream, we need shade! and 2) some of the lines were painfully long.
  • 1st Annual New England Quahog Festival (6/25/16). Again, I’m sorry I’m reporting this too late, it was a hoot! There was a sea creature parade and then it ended at NK Town Beach with activities, vendors, and live music. I was in heaven, being able to eat fresh, local oysters while sitting on the beach. Definitely keep this in mind for next year, and plan your mermaid costume (I will).

Quahog_Fest

  • Samba and East Coast Salsa Dancing (Wednesday Evenings). Kyle took me on a date to these two dance classes and it was a really fun time. Classes are located in The Towers in Narragansett, which is a beautiful location that overlooks the beach; quite stunning, really. Classes have changed for July and we’re planning on going again. No experience necessary.. I highly recommend it!
  • Yoga. Yoga. Yoga. (Every Damn Day). I think my new addiction this summer is yoga, but I’m hoping the addiction is more a lifelong one. I’ve been bouncing between Hot Yoga at my usual spot and then community yoga at various locations across the state. My sights are also set on beach yoga, sometime in the hopefully near future. If you need recommendations, let me know! I’ve got a list (duh).
  • Beekeeping Seminars. The obsession continues. Last week, I went to the Newport Public Library for a free backyard beekeeping seminar and learned some more fun facts.
  • Learn to Quahog. Sooo, I’m a Rhode Islander and had never actually gone quahogging. For shame, I know. Until now, that is! I forced Kyle to come with me after a friend couldn’t go, and we drove up to Buzzards Bay in Dartmouth, Mass where we were taught by some lovely individuals how to properly quahog. Everything was provided, and it was free! Events are still happening, so click the link to register. The weather was beautiful and it was a perfect way to spend a Saturday morning.

Quahogging

  • Shakespeare on the Saugatucket. I love Shakespeare and I love being outdoors, so this is a wonderful amalgamation of interests. This only started up on Sunday; I haven’t made it there yet, but for the month of July the lovely people of the Contemporary Theater Company are performing Comedy of Errors, and in August the show is Antony and Cleopatra. They do various other performances as well, so be sure to check the link.
  • Movies. I saw Finding Dory last week and it did not disappoint. The week before, I saw Captain America: Civil War. It was good but I must say, I really disliked the ending.

Okay, boos – that’s all I can afford to share for now. Back to work! I’ll try and touch down again sometime soon. x’s and o’s.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

