Procrasti-Nation

Standard

Baby Loves –

Have I mentioned I’m on freaking fire with this blogging stuff lately? My time management skills have been remarkable. I dig it. Currently, this is my form of a study/work break. We all win.

To piggyback off of that, I wanted to do a little talking about procrastination and how to best combat it. I’ve done some research, gathered my data and now I shall present. Economist problems. Anyway, here are some ways to deal with procrastination:

  1. Have A Plan B. This can be as simple as writing a to-do list of things that make you feel productive. So, instead of legitimately procrastinating, check off something on your to-do list. It can be as minor as you’d like, such as responding to some important e-mails you have been putting off, or making a grocery list. It’s the little things.
  2. Play. We all need breaks, but be careful not to take frequently lengthy ones, because then it becomes an escape instead of a break. I recommend signing up for lumosity or playing solitaire, as long as it is a game that promotes brain function.
  3. Experiment. If you find yourself becoming bored with a current project, try coming at it from a different angle. Sometimes all you need is a different perspective to get those gears turning.
  4. Smaller > Bigger. As I mentioned before, it’s the little things. Take bites out of life in sizable chunks and it is bound to feel less overwhelming.
  5. Calmness. Anxiety is one of those things that a LOT of people deal with on a regular basis. Try not to let it get to you. If you feel a potential attack coming on, take a step back, then a deep breath, and try again. If that’s not working, take a crack at meditation or yoga or some peaceful/easy listening music.
  6. Start in the Middle. In highschool, a lot of my friends always had issues with introductions and opening sentences. A recommendation teachers gave them was to start in the middle of the paper. For projects, I find this also works. If you don’t know where to start, well… don’t start at the beginning. Dive right in and the pieces of the puzzle will hopefully come together as you progress.
  7. End in the Middle. A little different from the above mentioned recommendation. Ernest Hemingway apparently used to end a writing session in the middle of a sentence, so he become more excited to pick up where he left off during the next session. I can’t say I’ve tried this before – usually I try to complete my thoughts – but now I’m going to give it a try.
  8. Read. I am always, always going to be an advocate for reading, regardless of the time or situation. If you find yourself stuck, read a piece of literature on the subject you are working on. It could inspire you or enrage you, both of which still get those juices flowing.

Personally, I’m a big list maker. I like the satisfaction of having a to-do list and checking off the tasks I complete. Sometimes, if I’m feeling really bummed or overwhelmed, the first thing on my list is “make to-do list”. TA-DA! Already got something checked off. It’s funny how somethings as little as that can change your mood.

Well…. I’ve got to jet. Literature on incentive design mechanisms are calling my name. The funny thing is, I actually really like this stuff, albeit being insanely time consuming. WEIRD. xoxox

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

