What Time Is It? Workout Time!

Standard

Gorgeous Peeps –

Happy First Day of Spring!!! Time to start thinking pleasant, Spring thoughts and going outside to breath fresh air. With the Equinox arrival, I figured what’s better than a post about exercising? Answer: nothing.

I’ve been training for my annual Boston Boulder Brawl, along with now two 5K’s (RIAND and another I can’t find the link to…), and I have to say: I’ve been crushing it. On average, I make it to the gym to do weight lifting/strength training with a warm-up run on the treadmill two times a week, the climbing gym to do assorted training exercises and climb two times a week, hot yoga once a week, and the past two weeks I’ve even made it to my high school outdoor track to run some miles. Basically, I feel like superwoman. It is awesome.

If anyone wants any specifics on my training regime, please feel free to ask and I would be more than happy to share avec vous. I’m a bit cuckoo when it comes to working out, so I have all my exercises (including weight amount, reps, sets), run logs and climbing recaps on an excel spreadsheet, along with a word document.

To be honest, before today, I hadn’t done too much research on the subject of just how frequently you should work out – mostly I do what feels right for my body and makes sense in my mind – but since I wanted to share information with people who are probably at various stages of fitness, I did research just for you fine folks. Here’s what I came up with:

First of all, there is no magic number of days you should work out. Ideally, aim for 5 – 3 should be strength training, 2 should be cardio, and 2 should be active rest. However, if you don’t workout at all at the moment, you can see results in as little as 1 day a week… BUT that should not mean you stop there. Push yourself! You should also think about the goals you want to achieve.

Strength Training: Ladies, don’t be deterred by this. A lot of people think strength training means getting bulky, but that is definitely not the case (unless of course that’s what you’re going for, and you’re into Olympic Power Lifting, etc). In fact, the more muscle you have, the higher your metabolic rate is. With a higher metabolic rate, your body burns calories faster, and it even burns them when you’re not working out (SCORE). Strength training also strengthens bones and joints, so really, it’s an overall win.

As I mentioned above, aim for 3 strength training days a week. Each session should be approximately 45-60 minutes, and I would highly recommend you complete a few minutes of cardio beforehand to get your muscles warm and blood pumping, plus stretching and foam rolling (this can be done afterwards).

For A-plus strength training, you need to focus on all the different parts of your body; this means upper and lower body, along with pushing and pulling exercises. If anyone needs recommendations for these, please ask me. I’ve got an arsenal. It’s most effective if you focus on different body areas during different sessions (except for core… do that every time), and slowly increase the weight as you feel more comfortable. Also, you may think the machines are the only way to go, but I highly encourage you to try free weights (kettlebells, dumbbells, TRX suspension), along with moves such as squats that use no equipment at all.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

