Get Out! Do Things!

Standard

Bonjour mes belles amis.

It’s FRIDAYYY! This is the first Friday since school started that I don’t have an exam and let me tell you… it feels freaking fantastic. To top off the awesomeness, my first class was cancelled; I’ve been at the office since 8:45 anyway, but this means I have time to blog for you 🙂 I know, you’re stoked.

Need something to do this weekend?

~ Saturday, October  24th (tomorrow) in Providence is the Great International Beer Festival. There are two sessions: 1pm and 6:30pm. You will see me at the 1pm chunk; I think it’s fun to wander around Providence a little tipsy in the daytime, especially with the fall foliage this glorious. The fest will be held at the Rhode Island Convention Center (they have a parking garage) and tickets will be sold at the door for $52. Yeah, it’s a little steep, but you get unlimited samples from over 250 breweries, there’s live entertainment, plus it’s a fun experience and a great way to support some local (and non-local) brews.
~ If the prefer the performing arts to slugging beers, this weekend (Friday @ 8pm, Saturday @ 7:30pm and Sunday @ 2pm) the Festival Ballet Providence will be presenting Ballets Russes Reinvented at Veterans Memorial Auditorium. Tickets range from $23-85; I find that to be pretty affordable.
~ Sunday, October 25th at 4pm in the Fete Ballroom there will be a bunch of wrestling matches put on by Beyond Wrestling. The event itself is called Gratitude Era and tickets are $25. I personally have never been to a wrestling match before and I don’t know if I will go, but I thought I would try and cater to a vast spectrum of readers.
~ For my more rock-er friends, check out Firehouse 13 either Friday, October 23rd or Saturday, October 24th. Tonight, The Paraplegics will be playing for $8 and doors are at 8pm. Tomorrow Darkside NYC will be playing along with a multitude of openers; doors are at 8pm and tickets are $10.
~ Not to leave out my nerdy peeps, tonight, October 23rd at 9pm at the AS220 Main Stage there is an All Ages Spelling Bee. If you want to participate and prove you’ve got the SAT word swagger, signups are at 8:30pm and the fee will be $8. Watching is free and spectators will have a chance to win some stuff, too. If I can convince Max to come with me, you bet your rears I’ll be there.
~ Last one! Tonight, October 23rd, at 7:05pm in the Dunkin’ Donuts Center there is a Providence Bruins game. We are playing the Lehigh Valley Phantoms and the first 1,000 fans to arrive receive a free magnet schedule (oooh, ahhh). Tickets range from $22-33.

There’s a nice array of things to do, je pense. After class today, I will be carving pumpkins with some classmates and enjoying the wondrous weather.
By the way — this weekend is supposed to be the peak of fall foliage in our section of New England, so be sure to get outside and enjoy before Winter strikes! Last weekend, Max and I went apple picking and conquered a corn maze at Dame Farm in Johnston, and I would definitely recommend checking it out if you get the chance. The maze wasn’t excruciating and you win candy at the end if you find all the check points. Aaaand the apples were delicious and there were some good varieties to pick!

Welp, that’s it for me today. I have to go attend a seminar by a post-doc dude from Yale who is talking about Projection Bias in Solar Electricity Markets. Nerdlove. Over and out.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

