Ocean State Oyster Festival

Standard

Hello, Baby Loves.

The day isn’t even over yet and it’s been a good one – I hope you’re kicking off the weekend in a similar fashion. After all, it is the last weekend of summer!

Today, I successfully managed to drag Max to the Ocean State Oyster Festival. To my knowledge this is the first year of them doing it, but I could be wrong. Either way, it was my first rendez-vous and it was fabulous! Max even braved trying oysters for the first time.

Babe's First Oyster

Babe’s First Oyster

The festival was located in Riverwalk Park in Providence and included local beer, 18 local oyster farms, multiple food trucks as well as live music. It was basically a culmination of awesomeness; plus 10% of ticket sales went to Save The Bay. I wasn’t able to try all of the farms oysters, but here were the ones I slurped up:

American Mussel, Beehan Family Farm, Block Island Oyster Company, East Beach Oysters, Jonathan Island Oyster Company, Matunuck Oyster Farm, Salt Water Farms, Walrus & Carpenter

OSOF2

Every oyster was delicious, staff was incredibly friendly, and yeah… nothing bad to report!  Try them all out if you ever get the chance. For more information on this festival, click here. The day was also gorgeous, so that was icing on the cake.

OSOF3

After we had our fill of the fest, we trekked northward to Lincoln for a nice rock climbing session. Since Max and I are lead certified now (!!!) we did some mild lead climbing and I am officially plumb tuckered out.

OSOF5

On that note, I think I am going to hunker down with a good book – either A Wise Man’s Fear or The Catcher in the Rye – and see where this lovely summer evening takes me. Enjoy yourselves, my dears! Take advantage of these beautiful days, for as we know, winter is coming.

OSOF4

3 responses »

  1. Oh..I wish I could be there. Several months ago, I’ve just had my first oyster at TwoTen. I ordered only two to taste. All I could tell was that it’s a lit bit salty and I didn’t feel good or bad about it. Thus, I do not know the oysters I had were considered to be tasty or not. Then, I would love to try from many farms. Well, next time, I will definitely be there.

    P.S. You look gorgeous 🙂

    • Thank you for the kind words! The event seemed to be a huge hit, so I’m hoping it will happen again – next time I will be sure to post beforehand to alert anyone who is interested in attending! I’ll certainly keep you in mind 🙂 It really was cool to see so many different local farms and to talk to all the farmers behind the shells.

  2. Pingback: Awesome Oysters | azuremarie

Share Those Thoughts

