Peace Out, Unofficial Summer

Standard

Well, well, September has arrived!
I start having meetings on Monday and classes begin for my Master’s program on Wednesday the 9th. It’s getting real, folks o_O. I’m cramming in as much bum and reading time as I can while my brain is free and able to breathe.

However, just because summer is unofficially over (the official date of Fall is September 23rd, for those who don’t know) does not mean I will succumb, and I hope you won’t, either. Enjoy the beautiful weather for as long as you can.

Don’t get me wrong, I really love Fall, but I also really adore lamping around down at my family’s beach house and soaking up some rays. I mean… who wouldn’t? I have to say, I made it to the beach more times this Summer than any previous one I can remember, and I freaking love it. ESPECIALLY when the beach is within walking distance and I can bring beers. Hehe.

A little off topic, but I read this article today titled, “Four Daily Habits of a Good Boss”, and I wanted to quickly share the four habits with you lovely folks. To be frank, I think these habits do not just pertain to a good boss, so ignore the title and take the tips in stride. I do these things most of the time, and I am not exactly a budding entrepreneur — at least not yet. *wink*

  1. Take time for yourself every morning. It sets a good pace for the rest of your day. Keep up with the routine! Here’s mine: wake up, take allergy medicine and probiotic, break my fast, drink beverage (either tea, hot water with lemon, or chocolate milk), drum up physical or mental to-do list, carpe diem. Boom.
  2. Eat Breakfast. I already mentioned this above. The article says to “think of your mind as a motor. Without proper fuel, it sputters and never really gets running strong.” My breakfast varies depending on how much time I have. If I have ample time, I make a juice or my favorite: two eggs over medium on healthy bread with a slice of cheese and either hummus or avocado spread on the toast (I also add ketchup and hot sauce but we can overlook that unhealthy bit). If I have a tiny bit of time, I will attempt to make a smoothie, and if I’m crunched on time I usually grab a banana, hard-boiled egg I previously made, or a healthy bar of some sort, because carbs are crucial early in the day.
  3. Catch up with your team. Okay, this is more boss oriented, but I twist this into just staying in touch with those whose company you hold dear. Friends, family, co-workers, etc., don’t be afraid to reach out and catch up. It’s nice to socialize.
  4. Ask what can be done better. Nobody is perfect. Sorry if anyone was under the impression that they were. There is always something that can be improved upon, and if you ask others and yourself on a regular basis how you can be the best possible person you can be, you’re sure to be an awesome individual. Life is an ongoing learning process; embrace it! Don’t stay stagnant, it smells.

There you have it, my turtle doves. My computer battery is perilously close to dying, so I’m going to have to sign off. Have a great Labor Day weekend and get outside in the sun!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

