Skinny Love

Standard

Lovelies –

I wanted to share with you a song; a song that I really, truly love, and I have for many years now. It’s had its moments where it makes me cry – though not always – yet it is just so powerfully beautiful that it has to be admired. It also makes me wish I was good at ballet.

The song is called “Skinny Love”; it was originally released in America from Bon Iver’s 2007 debut album called  For Emma, Forever Ago. It was written by Justin Vernon, who happens to be a genius and part of the folk band Bon Iver. Then, in 2011, an English musician called Birdy released a cover and made it extra famous. A few other covers have been released but in my opinion, the original is the best.

First, here’s the original music video by Bon Iver:

Yeah, it’s an “artsy” video; but remember, they’re a folk band.

There was a lot of speculation as to what the song meant, so while Pitchfork was interviewing Justin, they asked. Here’s the conversation:

Pitchfork: Christy once told me that she immediately knew “Skinny Love” was about her when you first sang it to her. It took you a while to mention people like Christy– and especially your ex Sara Emma Jensen– in public. What made you able to talk about it?

JV: I’m not afraid to talk about it, but how do you guarantee it’s accurate? To say that “Skinny Love” is about Christy would not be entirely accurate. We dated and she’s an incredibly important person that I lived with for a long time, but it’s about that time in a relationship that I was going through; you’re in a relationship because you need help, but that’s not necessarily why you should be in a relationship. And that’s skinny. It doesn’t have weight. Skinny love doesn’t have a chance because it’s not nourished.

While listening/watching the first video, you probably couldn’t pick up on all the words. To kill two birds with one stone, here is Birdy’s version (notice the pun??), so you can listen to it while seeing all the lyrics.

Finally, here are two more covers that have gained popularity. I personally love the Das Kapital cover, it’s got a little womp in it that’s fun. The Edward version has a crap ton of views, so the general public seems to enjoy that one.

Well… now that I’ve saturated your day with Skinny Love, enjoy the rest of it!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

