Glorious Gatherings

Standard

Howdy Hey Beautiful Humans!

I’m sitting on URI campus waiting for my class to start, so I figured giving a quick hello would be a good use of my time. Over the last week or so, two amazing gatherings/festivals have been brought to my attention; naturally, I wanted to share. One is local to us Rhode Islanders, and the other is regional to New England:

Green Market Festival: I don’t know if this is happening again this year, but I sincerely hope that it does. Last year, the 3rd annual Green Market Festival took place (from 10 am to 5 pm) at The Farmer’s Daughter and Landscape Creations of RI, located at 715-716 Mooresfield Road (Route 138), South Kingstown, RI – conveniently, mighty close to where I am currently sitting.

Events of this festival included interactive events for the whole family, such as: Hands-on Demonstrations, Family Fun Activities, Learn from the Experts: Educational Presentations,  Exhibits & Vendors, Live Music, Green Businesses, Great Food, Big Nazo Puppets, Story Telling and BoldrDash Kids. In the “Learn from the Experts” portion, landscape professionals offered workshops on a variety of topics. Admission for an adult was only $10, ages 12-18 were $5, under 12 was free, with $25 maximum per family over 4. Not a bad deal, eh? 

I’ll keep my eyes peeled for this event popping up again, and of course I will keep y’all posted.

Epic Skill Swap: Okay, now this is genius. Of course, it takes place in New Hampshire (live free or die, duh). Basically, this event is amazing; it is a participatory weekend (it just ended – it was Memorial Day Weekend) festival at Camp Wilmot in Wilmot, New Hampshire.

At this event, you can learn new skills, share the skills you have and spend a couple days with some equally as awesome people. The cost depends on your individual situation. There are potluck dinners and a whole slew of other amazing things; click the link I provided to see all the full details. I need to attend this next year. It’s almost too good to be true, but it IS true! Naturally, I’ve already emailed them and I’m crossing my fingers I’ll get a spot for 2016. Now I just need to figure out what skills I want to share… Come join 🙂

I’ve got to run… class has begun! x’s and o’s.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

