Earth Day Sprouting

Standard

Hi Friends!

As you may or may not know, Earth Day was on April 22nd, and to keep up the good vibes, I planted some old seeds that I had leftover from my Vermont days. To be honest, I was a little nervous as to whether or not the seeds would actually sprout, since those things are said to have expiration dates.

Nevertheless, I collected a wheelbarrow full of very old horse manure – which is now beautiful compost equipped with earthworms (!!!) – tidied up the window boxes in front of my house and planted within them large handfuls of the “expired” seeds. I also up-cycled old protein scoops that I have been hoarding for some time now and planted seeds in them to hopefully sprout indoors.

Window Boxes

Lo and behold, I have some sprouters! Never underestimate the power of a little seed and it’s will to grow. I’m a happy camper; let’s hope some make it to adulthood and eventually, into my belly šŸ˜‰

We Have Babies!

We Have Babies!

The above photo is the up-cycled protein scoop – crafty idea, huh? I thought so. However, at the aggressive rate that the Dinosaur Kale is growing, they won’t be in the scoop for long! The last time I tried growing Lacinato (Dino) Kale, they made it pretty far, only to get devoured by deer a few days before cultivation. Mer. Wish me better luck this time.

Enjoy the rest of your day, babes ā¤

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: How Does Your Garden Grow? Part 2 - Germination - Playground Parkbench

Share Those Thoughts

