That Which We Call A Rose…

Standard
Hello there, beautiful people.
In case you were wondering about the origin of the title:
What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.
    – William Shakespeare
It appears that I have a TON of pictures from my old phone scattered around my desktop right now, and I slowly want to integrate them into some lovely posts when the proper time arises. Two of them jumped out at me today, and so they are the chosen ones.
We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.
    – Abraham Lincoln (my favorite president)
As you may know, I am the proud owner of an Excalibur Dehydrator – she is a thing of beauty and I honestly don’t use her as much as I should… something I hope to change. I have made some killer chicken jerky in the past amongst other things, but the items I have been dehydrating most lately are flowers. Roses, in particular.
How did it happen that their lips came together? How does it happen that birds sing, that snow melts, that the rose unfolds, that the dawn whitens behind the stark shapes of trees on the quivering summit of the hill? A kiss, and all was said.

        – Victor Hugo

I have the beginnings of a nice cacophony of flower colors for a beautiful potpourri, and it turns out the majority of them even retain their smell. Someday, I want to use the dried petals for rose tea, but I need to either grow my own flowers for that (another goal) or find a reputable supplier who doesn’t use pesticides. I’m not really interested in drinking nasty bug drugs, thank you very much.
Before

Before

After

After

Aren’t they beautiful?! Who knew that receiving flowers as gifts could bring so much happiness, both during and after peak bloom. It’s all about the little things, people.

It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so important.
      – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Le Petit Prince
To stay in the spirit of roses, I compiled some quotes from a few of my favorite brains of the past that involve roses and embedded them throughout this post. If the names don’t spark recognition, I suggest you look into them. Enjoy!
But he who dares not grasp the thorn
Should never crave the rose.
     – Anne Brontë
Until next time ❤
About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

