The Rock… Rocks.

Standard

Happy Sunday, Everyone!

It’s been absolutely gorgeous out today, so if it’s nice where you are, I hope you spent a little time outdoors. I had to work until 3pm, but afterwards I took one of my dogs on an hour long walk for some exercise and Vitamin D, chyeahhh. Then I picked up the new and limited edition Game of Thrones beer, called “Three-Eyed Raven” and brewed by Ommegang Brewery, because GAME OF THRONES PREMIERES TONIGHT!! I can’t wait.

I had a pretty fabulous week, so ending it (or starting it… whichever way you look at it) with Game of Thrones is icing on the cake. As I may have mentioned in the past, I had my first climbing competition yesterday at Rock Spot Climbing’s Boston Boulder Brawl, so I spent a lot of time this last week – and the last month – preparing for it. I went to a pretty sweet rock gym on Wednesday called Central Rock Gym – Watertown to mix it up a bit; check out the pictures below.

Central Rock Gym

 

Central Rock (3)

To recap the competition: it was awesome. I didn’t win, but I did score high enough in the qualifying round to compete in the final brawl, where you climb until fail. I was eliminated on the 5th problem along with 6 other women (it was an evil problem), so I felt pretty content about the whole thing. Personally, I did some of the best climbing I’ve ever done to date, so that’s a win in my book! Truth be told, if the women in my division had been honest and competed at the level they belonged in – a lot were WAY to advanced for my level, it was pretty disheartening and unfair – I probably would have had a solid chance at winning, but oh well. Once I can get Max to send me the pictures I’ll post them up here. I also am friends with the manager of the Spot, so Max and I were asked to be judges during other levels of the competition. It was pretty neat and overall just a really great, albeit long, day 😀

Central Rock (2)

I’ve been really craving French lately, so the rest of this post is going to be in said tongue. Feel free to translate if you wish, but maybe sometime I’ll translate it/read it out loud on a video for you all to hear how it sounds. If you just paste it in a translator, just be aware it may not seem to flow as nicely. I also may have made a few grammatical errors here and there since I am a little rusty.

Aujourd’hui, j’ai fait une découverte. Donc, pas exactement une découverte, mais j’ai trouvé les mots corrects pour une pensée de mien (<– cette grammaire… c’est correct?). Actuellement, la découverte était hier, mais il n’importe pas.

Alors, la pensée. Toute ma vie, j’avais été une individuel compétitive; pour toutes la facettes de ma vie. C’est dans mon ADN, peut-être. Mais, je pense que quand j’était petite, mes idées de compétition étaient complètement incorrects et injustifiables. Puis, j’avait voulu détruire le compétition; les battre a tout ce jeu et gagner.

Mais, maintenant je vois l’idée de compétition dans une lumière différent. Oui, j’ai encore gagner, mais maintenant il est pour une raison plus juste, plus humaine. Peut-être je dois cette idée à une sport en particulier… l’escalade. Hier, j’ai eu mon premier compétition d’escalade, et je l’adorait! J’adore cet sport, et un morceau de cet amour est parce que les personnes qui participent.

Ils sont adorent (eh bien, plus). Les attitudes sont heureux, encourageant et aimables, et ils étaient infectieux. Pendant un moment, j’avais compris. L’idée de gagner n’est pas comment tu peux battre les autres, mais comment tu peux conquête de vous-même et être parfait pour vous. Je voudrais aider mon compétition parce que, pourquoi pas? Je voudrais être le mieux. Mais il n’y a pas les autres dans cette problème; seulement moi et le rocher. Là! C’est facile pour moi: si les autres sont très super, j’ai besoin être très super aussi parce que je voudrais exceller, et nous pouvons apprendre de l’autre.

Le rocher ne mente pas et je voudrais avoir toutes les rochers me dire que je suis le mieux, ne personne. Mais je veux le support des personnes et en exchange je veux les support aussi. Ensemble, nous pouvons conquêtes le monde. Je pense que avec cette idée, j’ai grandi un peu, et à cause de ça, je suis devenue une meilleure personne.

There you have it, folks. Enjoy the remainder of your weekend!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

