Honeydew and Poblano Salad

Standard

Bonjour!

I came across this recipe a while back and finally put it to use with the warm weather slowly descending upon us – yesss. It’s a great appetizer for the summertime but can also work as a side dish; whatever tickles your fancy. The recipe is honeydew and poblano salad with smoked salt and mint.. quite the mouthful! But hey, if it tastes good in my mouth, it can be as lengthy as it wants.

Honeydew, Poblano, Etc. Salad

Clean and Green!

 

This recipe serves 4-6 people, depending on if you have hungry folk and/or boys. Ha.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 T lime juice
  • 1 poblano pepper (seeded and diced)*
  • 1/2 honeydew melon (peeled, seeded and diced, ~5 cups)
  • 2 small pickling, or “Kirby”, cucumbers (diced)
  • 1/4 c fresh mint (chopped)
  • 1/4 t smoked sea salt

* If you can’t come across poblano peppers for whatever reason, use a small green bell pepper instead and add a pinch of cayenne for that lovely kick.

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, toss together lime juice and poblano
  2. Add honeydew, cucumber and mint then toss again
  3. Sprinkle with smoked salt
  4. Serve and enjoy!

Outrageously easy, yes? Oui. I also have some nutrition facts for you if you have any interest or if you are counting calories, etc.

Per serving, this recipe yields 80 calories (5 of which are from fat), .5g total fat, 0 sat fat, 0 cholesterol, 125mg sodium, 19g carbohydrates (3g from dietary fiber, 15g sugar) and 2g protein. This recipe also happens to be dairy free, fat free, gluten free, vegan and wheat free if you have to worry about that kind of thing.

I came across a fun discovery today: the phrase “get able” is located within the word “vegetable”… hehe. So eat your veggies, my main peeps!

Before I log off, I wanted to leave you with some new vocabulary that I picked up lately; because when I expand my knowledge, I like to pass it along to you! You’re welcome.

  • Putative – adj. commonly regarded as such; supposed
  • Vicissitudes – n. a change or variation occurring in the course of something; mutation
  • Risible – adj. causing or capable of causing laughter; laughable; ludicrous; having the ability, disposition, or readiness to laugh.
  • Behest – n. command; earnest or strongly worded request
  • Spurious – adj. not genuine, authentic or true; counterfeit; bastard

 

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

