Atlanta Film Festival ’15

Standard

Good Evening, Y’all!

I just got back from Atlanta, Georgia this morning; as you know, I left early on Thursday to support one of my closest friends, Aly, at the 2015 Atlanta Film Festival. The short film she directed called Knightsville was accepted into the festival (along with 4 other festivals so far!) in the New Mavericks block, which includes a female director and a strong female lead. I am so proud of her; the film was phenomenal. If you ever come across it, give it a watch!

Per usual, I’ll give you a play-by-play of my trip… so here yah go.

Thursday, March 26th: I had a verrry early flight, but it was well worth it because I was settled and in Atlanta by 10h00 with the whole day ahead of me. We didn’t watch any films this day, but we went into midtown Atlanta to explore and get a better lay of the land. Of course being a juice/smoothie fiend, Aly and I stopped at Arden’s Garden, a juice and smoothie shop next to one of the theaters; I sucked down a wheat grass shot and a spinach/pineapple/mango smoothie. It was a much needed surplus of greens in my system.

Arden's Garden

After our daily dose of greenery, Aly, Amanda (the lead actress of Knightsville), Amanda’s mom and I had lunch at a cool place called The Vortex Bar & Grille.

The Vortex Bar & Grille
It had some crazy burger combinations, and a few that I hope rarely get ordered considering the names were Double & Triple Coronary Bypass… yikes. I went with the Hot Southern Mess sandwich, which was a fried chicken breast topped with a fried egg and bacon, covered with white sausage gravy, and served on Texas Toast. When down in the dirty south, right?

Hot Southern Mess

The Hot Southern Mess

It was epic and I washed it down with Terrapin, Hopsecutioner IPA, brewed in Athens, Georgia.

Terrapin Hopsecutioner IPA

Terrapin Hopsecutioner IPA

Post-gorging, we all went home to take a quick digestion nap, then I went with Aly to a Femme Fatales meeting back in midtown that she had organized. I was the resident photographer. From there, we went back to the hotel to change, met up with Aly’s brother and cousin, drank some wine and headed to our party for the evening… it was AWESOME!

Art Installation

Art Installation

The party was located at a place called The Goat Farm Arts Center and if you are ever down in West Midtown Atlanta, check it out! It was featured in The Hunger Games: Catching Fire and was just an amazing venue. We had so so much fun; definitely the best party we attended.

(Love Yourself)

(Love Yourself)

Awesome Art (I want to duplicate this!)

Awesome Art (I want to duplicate this!)

The event was put on by ATLFF ’15 and was called ‘Sound + Vision’. The pictures I took aren’t the best, but Aly has some good ones I will steal and post once she makes them public. Stay tuned for the videos of the art and live music I have from the evening, too.

The Goat Farm

hehe

hehe

The Goat Farm party ended at midnight, but we were still in fiesta mode, so our group walked to a bar close by called Ormsby’s that was equally as amazing – the entire basement was a game lounge equipped with dart boards, bocce ball courts, pool tables, ski ball, air hockey, shuffleboard and a photo booth, to name some. We also munched down late night snacks that probably saved us all from a brutal hangover the following day.

Art Installation 2.0

Art Installation 2.0

… okay, so I know I alluded to that fact that I was going to recap the entirety of my trip in this post, but I keep getting distracted and I’m pretty sleepy, so I think I will finish up the rest tomorrow. It’ll give you something to look forward to!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

