Too Much Tea

Standard

Bonsoir!

I think I just made the mistake of drinking caffeinated tea at 21h00 (that’s 9:00pm for all you non-military and non-french peeps), so I’m hoping I can burn some of that energy off by blogging a bit. For the record, I thought the tea was decaf, but judging by the way I’m currently feeling, I thought wrong.

As you guys may know, I’m a big reader and love to learn/expand my mental horizons; because in my opinion, if you aren’t trudging forward, you’re either moving backwards or staying stagnant, neither of which are beneficial to you or the rest of humanity. In an effort to combine my interests, I take “notes” while I read. However, there isn’t really a legitimate purpose for said notes… until now… where I share them with you. Aren’t you guys and gals lucky?

Well, here it goes [I promise I will only do little bits at a time].

Did You Know?
– That “e.g.” (you will sometimes see this in writing in lieu of “ex” meaning example) stands for exempli gratia, which means “for the sake of an example” in Latin.
– Following the same train of thought, “n.b.” which is sometimes used instead of p.s. stands for nota bene which means “note well” in Latin and Italian. That I actually learned in high school and have never forgotten it.

Okay, now here’s a cool quote from The Name of the Wind:

Beer dulls a memory, brandy sets is burning, but wine is best for a sore hearts yearning… out of all the spirits, wine is suited to reminiscence. A good wine allows clarity and focus, while still allowing a bit of comforting coloration of the memory.

Not So Fun Facts:
– Though by any reasonable definition Iowa is a rural state, it is more thoroughly developed than many cities: a mere 2% of the state’s land remains what it used to be (tall-grass prairie), every square foot of the rest having been completely remade by man.
– One in three American children eat fast food every single day and 19% of American meals are eaten in the car.
– A 1lb box of prewashed organic lettuce contains 80 calories of food energy. Growing, chilling, washing, packaging and transporting said lettuce to the east coast takes more than 4,600 calories of fossil fuel energy – or 57 calories of fossil fuel energy per every calorie of food. And that’s organic! Conventionally grown lettuce would be 4% higher.

^^ All of the above facts make me really pissed off and extremely sad at the same time. Hmpf.

Before I go, I wanted to leave you with five new vocabulary words. In case you forgot, the ones I left you with a few weeks back were ephemeral, florid, fervent, discursive and sovereignty. Bonus points if you can remember their definitions without looking them up!

  • Aphorism – n. a pithy saying that embodies a general truth or an astute observation
  • Irascible – adj. irritable; easily angered
  • Discerning – adj. having insight; mentally quick and observant
  • Alacrity – n. cheerful promptness; eagerness
  • Disparage – v. to belittle

Goodnight, mes amis.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

