Apparently, Breathing Burns Fat

Standard

News alert! I read this magazine called Prevention; I think it’s sort of catered to an older crowd than myself, but the magazine focuses on health, fitness and nutrition – all of which I love and care about – so I buy it when I see it. I totally recommend anyone in any walk of life give it a whirl someday; you never know! Anyway, I’m being discursive.

The point I wanted to share was this: you know how we’ve (well, at least I have) been led to believe that fat left your body via sweat? WRONG! Two researchers recently proved that 84% of fat exits your mouth and nose through simple exhales. How wild is that? Don’t suddenly get the lazy mentality due to this fact, though. It would be quite silly to think you can burn off a bunch of fat just my breathing a lot. You can’t replace exercise.

A thousand exhales take about a half hour [when on a hike-run]. Given that 30 minutes burns about 350 calories [for me], 3 exhales is the sound of burning 1 calorie.

Am I the only one who finds that fascinating? Essentially, you exhaling carries converted fat in the form of carbon dioxide.

Another cool fact I picked up during my reading was a way to judge the ripeness of a pineapple. If you smell the base and it has a light pineapple fragrance, then it’s a winner. Don’t focus on color.

Before learning this, I would always choose a pineapple by squeezing it – if it’s too squishy, it’s too ripe; if it’s akin to a bowling bowl, it’s not ripe enough – or by pulling on the center leaf directly in the center of the fruit. If the leaf pops out with hardly a tug, it’s a good choice. Those two methods have not let me down before, but now I have an arsenal of three!

Keep in mind that pineapple’s make a great snack to satisfy your sweet tooth. I use them a lot in juices as a sweetening agent. They are healthier for you than cookies and they contain bromelain, which is an enzyme with anti-inflammatory properties.

The best pineapple I ever had was fresh off the trees in the Costa Rican forest back in high school; we were white water rafting and that was our snack break. The tour guides cut them with machetes, it was amazing. I will never forget that pineapple and hopefully I can go back to that region for another taste. As I like to say… fresh is best. You don’t get any fresher than plucked from the tree!

Night my darlings xxoo

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

