Corn-y Facts

Standard

Hello Everyone!

Sorry that I’ve been a little off the radar this last month – I’ve been focusing on studying for the GRE’s as well as reading some Microeconomics textbooks, so my blogging has not been on it’s usual A-game.

I’ve also been reading a lot, which leads me into the point of this post. It won’t be a long one since I do have a lot of work to do today, but one of the books I have been reading is The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan; I’m not very far into it, but so far I really enjoy it. I also have gotten stellar reviews from some friends of mine along with the gentleman who helped me locate it in Barnes & Noble, so if you ever come across it, pick it up and give it a read! Especially if you are an American with less than admirable eating habits.

The first section is about corn and the industry behind it. It weaves in some pretty interesting factoids about the C-4 plant, two of which I wanted to share with you, so here it goes…

  1. Originally “corn” was a generic English word for any kind of grain, even a grain of salt – hence “corned beef”.
  2. Shelled corn cobs were burned for heat and stacked by the privy as a rough substitute for toilet paper. Hence the American slang term “corn hole”.

Intriguing, right? I thought so, anyway. I will be slowly stocking up more fun facts, so stay tuned for more!

I have also been really working on amping up my vocabulary (GRE preparation), so I wanted to leave you with five that I recently stored in my memory banks. In my opinion, it never hurts to have a better arsenal of words!

  • Ephemeral – adj. short-lived; fleeting
  • Florid – adj. ruddy; reddish; flowery
  • Fervent – adj. ardent; hot
  • Discursive – adj. rambling; digressing
  • Sovereignty – n. royalty, rightful status; having supreme power/authority; indicating very small differences

Have a great start to your week, my loves!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

6 responses »

    • Yvan – I’m taking the GRE for a PhD program at the University of Rhode Island. The program is Environmental and Natural Resource Economics; my hope is to focus on renewable energy and solar power!

      • As for me: I am still waiting on Vanderbilt, UPenn and Columbia for a PhD with focus on particle cosmology. However, if worse come to worst I’ll still attend Minnesota…

      • Particle Cosmology; that sounds quite intense, wow. I hope you get into all three you’re waiting to hear from, keep me posted and the best of luck!

Share Those Thoughts

