Loaded Tomato Soup

Standard

What’s going on mes amis?

Are all of you beautiful beings surviving the infamous “hump day”? If you’re struggling, never fear, it’s almost over! If you live on the East Coast, that is. Sorry Westerners, but you’ve got a few extra hours to endure.

In an effort to lessen the pain of the Winter Wednesday Blues, I thought I would share a tasty soup recipe with all of you, because who doesn’t like soup during the colder months? Especially when it’s loaded tomato soup. I made this the other week and well, I thought it was delicious; my family seemed to be in agreement, too. Plus, you know exactly what the ingredients are… and they’re good for you!

Isn't she pretty?

Isn’t she pretty?

Ingredients:

  • 2 c tomatoes (one 16 oz can of diced, or whole tomatoes, crushed)
  • 1/2 c rice
  • 1/2 c chickpeas
  • 1 T cilantro or parsley
  • 1/2 t cumin powder
  • 4 c vegetable/chicken/beef stock (or even water)
  • 1 T EVOO
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a heavy bottomed pan, heat EVOO, then add garlic, cumin and onion. Cook until onions are soft, about 3 minutes.
  2. Add crushed/canned tomatoes and 1/2 t salt. Crush tomatoes as much as you can during this step.
  3. Add stock/water and bring to a boil at high heat. Once boiling, bring down to a simmer and let sit, covered for 20 minutes.
  4. Puree the soup in one or two batches to make it smooth. I used my Vitamix for this.
  5. Return broth mixture back to pot (strain if you feel this is necessary, I didn’t), add the rice and chickpeas and cook on stove until everything is warm and ready to eat.
  6. Serve in a bowl and garnish with parsley/cilantro. Devour!

If you aren’t the biggest fan of chickpeas, this is a great way to start becoming accustomed. If you really hate them, you can easily substitute with chicken – I would recommended small chunks or even shredded.

Hearty for the body and soul <3

Hearty for the body and soul ❤

Well, that’s all I’ve got for you lovely individuals tonight. I am extremely sore at the moment – I climbed and worked out at the regular gym yesterday and then went to the regular gym today – so my agenda for the rest of the night is as follows: turn on heated blanket –> watch Grimm –> sleep.

G’night everyone!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

