Rice Water: That’s What’s Up

Standard

Hello my beauties!
How is everyone holding up now that we’ve experienced the first “hump day” of 2015? It’s darn cold where I am, but I have a bathrobe snuggled up around me and slippers on my feet, so I guess I don’t really have much to complain about. Though perhaps I should make some tea…

My boyfriends mother posted a link to an article the other day about the benefits of “rice water”, and being a naturally curious creature when it comes to heath related topics, I read the article. I’m not going to lie, it was a pretty poorly written piece on what seemed like a less-than-reliable website, but the information was there and it was interesting, so I thought I would pass it along to all of you. Now, I don’t know how accurate all of the information is, but I’m going to try it out for myself and report back. If you try this and have any results, please share! Sharing is caring, right? Right.

Apparently, gaining benefits from rice water is something that has been practiced by the Chinese for a looong time (not surprising since that is such a huge portion of their diet) and it is now becoming more popular in modern western civilization.

The Benefits? First, there are the health benefits. By drinking the hot rice water as you would soup, you can expect it to provide energy, prevent gastroenteritis, regulate body temperature, prevent and cure constipation and maybe even prevent cancer. Then there are the cosmetic benefits, but please make sure that you allow the water to cool down before using it on your body. You can wash your face with the rice water to soften skin, use it has a tonic replacement, apply on face to assist closed pores and even wash your hair with the water to make your hair shinier and healthier.

Personally, I’m not sure how keen I am on drinking straight hot rice water, so I’m thinking it may be a good idea to turn it into a broth base for soup? Maybe add some veggies and protein and keep the rice in the mix to make it a heartier dish rather than a clear liquid to choke down unpleasantly.

The great part about this rice water is that the preparation is outrageously simple; all you need is rice and water. Take the same steps you would if you were cooking the rice to eat (which you still can), but it is recommended to add more water to the pot than you normally would, so the rice could come out a bit more engorged than usual.

Please note that simply rinsing off rice in water does not count as rice water; the rice needs to have released some of its useful properties into the water, meaning cooking/boiling needs to take place.

… and there you have it! I think I’m going to give the cosmetics aspect a shot first, then create a [hopefully] tasty soup using the rice water for the health benefits. Have a great day everyone, and do your best to stay warm!

 

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

  1. Nice website, it’s definitely a great start. I know a lot more about rice water lol. It reminds me of my friend, who’s also trying to get people to check out his blog. It would be cool if you could take a look at it. It’s called: teanswer.x10host.com

Share Those Thoughts

