Colorful, Healthy, Seasonal Risotto

Standard

Hello my beautiful people.

Christmas is soon upon us… I hope everyone is ready to take the Holidays in stride and enjoy themselves! All my presents are wrapped (in the Wall Street Journal in an effort to save trees and cash money) and under the tree, plus I’ve been baking up a storm! Stay tuned for all my cookie pictures and recipes, I’ll get those up at some point after Christmas is over.

In the meantime, I have another recipe I would like to share avec vous that I snagged from EdibleRhody. I haven’t made this yet, but I figured maybe some of you would like to use it this coming week with all the festivities. Basically, all the ingredients in the title are amazing so in my mind it is sure to be a win.

Beet & Barley Risotto with Goat Cheese & Apples
Serves 6 as a side dish

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion (dice small)
  • 2 gloves garlic (mince)
  • 1 cup pearl barley
  • 4 ounces white wine
  • 1/2 cup beet juice (1 large)*
  • 1/2 cup diced apple (1 whole)
  • grated zest and juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 4 sprigs thyme (stemmed and chopped)
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup (2 ounces) goat cheese (crumbled)
  • kosher or sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper

*If you aren’t lucky enough to have a juicer (though I highly recommend you buy one… they’re getting cheaper by the day!), simply puree 1-2 roasted beets in blender until smooth as can be. Add water if needed.

Directions:

  1. Bring stock to a simmer in saucepan. Heat olive oil in a heavy-bottomed saucepan and add onion, cooking until translucent (5 minutes), don’t brown! Add garlic and barley and saute for 2 minutes.
  2. Add white wine and allow to evaporate (2-4 minutes). Add stock, 1 ladle at a time, letting liquid fully absorb before next ladle, and still constantly until barley is tender (approx 20 minutes).
  3. Add beet juice and apples. Stir until liquid is reduced and risotto is thickening up.
  4. Remove from heat and add lemon zest, lemon juice, half of the thyme, butter and 1/4 cup goat cheese. Stir until combined. Season to taste.
  5. Serve warm, garnish with remaining goat cheese and chopped thyme.

Sounds pretty fabulous, right? I have to do some work today, but I think afterwards I may try this out. Or make more cookies. I’m on a pretty severe cookie making binge, and if anyone has any stellar recipes, I would love to be brought into the loop!

Well, I must start being productive now. Have a great day everyone, don’t let the Monday blues get you down. Turn on some festive music and do a little dance if you start to feel stressed, or even better, throw on an ugly sweater. Preferably one with twinkling lights.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

