Apples For Days

Standard

Hi!

It’s a bit after noon and I must say, I’ve had a pretty nice day (and previous night) thus far. I stayed at Max’s house in Narragansett last night, where we made a stellar apple crisp with some apples that Max and I picked at Sweet Berry Farm in Middletown over the weekend. Yeah, we’re pretty cool. If any of you feel like crossing the Newport Bridge to check out this farm, I highly recommend it. They are definitely doing it right over there.

Apples

This morning, I met with an old professor of Max’s who teaches business; I figured now is the time to start making some connections, and the meeting went great! We clicked; I will be making that a semi-regular occurrence for sure (look at me, acting all grownup and whatnot).

Anyway, back to the apples. Sweet Berry Farm had seven different varieties for us to pick from this time around, which was awesome. If you aren’t aware, I love apples. I think they are amazing fruits and so versatile, and I like to try as many different types as possible. Also, because I am always thinking of my lovely blog readers, I took pictures of each apple variety and jotted down the names so I could share them with all of you! Cue apples:

Ginger Gold

Ginger Gold

Summer Macintosh

Summer Macintosh

Gala

Gala

Honey Crisp

Honey Crisp

Golden Delicious

Golden Delicious

Macoun

Macoun

Macintosh

Macintosh

… that’s some pretty good stuff, huh? They are all delicious, might I add. Between Max and I, we left with over 20 pounds of apples, oh yes. Sunday night, we put one Mac into our chicken pesto and tortellini soup, which added a sweet twist to the loaded soup.

Then, last night, we used my fancy pants apple peeler/corer/slicer that I bought a few months back and turned 6 apples – Macs, Ginger Golds and Macouns – into a delicious apple crisp! Seriously though guys, easiest thing every to bake. So much so that next time around, I plan on getting more advanced (and healthy). To fancy it up this time, we caramelized the apple skins left from the peeler and combined it in a pan with Jarlsberg cheese and added that as a topping.

Apple Crisp MMMM

Apple Crisp MMMM

Simply line 9″ pan with apples, then evenly coat with 1/2 tsp cinnamon and juice from 1/2 lemon. Then in a separate bowl, mix together 1/2 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, 1 cup flour and 1 tsp cinnamon. Once mixed, add 3/4 stick of unsalted butter that is chopped in even, small pieces to the bowl. Mix around until butter has been folded in and break down any large chunks with your fingers. Bake for about 35 minutes in an oven at 375 and BOOM! Apple Crisp. All of Max’s roommates approved it, and I may or may not have had two helpings for myself. Next time, be prepared for even more sophisticated magic.

Well, I do have to get ready for work now, so I must leave you drooling over my apple-y goodness. I also snagged two pumpkins during the escapade; if anyone has any ideas what do with them, I’m all ears! Stay awesome, folks.

Doesn't this remind you of the pacman ghosts?

Doesn’t this remind you of the pacman ghosts?

The Colors <3

The Colors ❤

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

