Beware Microbead Laden Toothpaste

Standard
Hey There!
Rose2
Today, as I was trolling the interweb for no particular reason, I stumbled upon this article. I must say, I’m pretty horrified about the whole thing; so much so that I felt it necessary to share with all of you. Of course, you could click the article and read it for yourself, but I’ll give you a quick lowdown in case you aren’t in the mood.
Polyethylene
Basically, the microbeads that some toothpaste brands (such as Crest’s Pro-Heath and 3D White) include in their products are absolutely horrible for you, and I strongly recommend that you never purchase this type of toothpaste ever again. I’m doing you a favor here. First of all, the microbeads are just that… micro beads. Teeny tiny synthetic plastic balls. That we willingly put in our mouths – and scrub on our faces! Some face washes have these beads, too. The tiny balls are made from a material called polyethylene, which is the most common plastic in our world; think water bottles and grocery bags.
Rose Petals in a Jar

Rose Petals in a Jar

Seriously though, I don’t want to ingest these things, nor do I want them lodged in my pores or between teeth and under gums. They are non-biodegradable, for Pete’s sake! Illinois has already stepped up to the plate; they have banned products using the beads for polluting the water system and ending up in the bellies of fish and other wildlife. They are also getting lodged in dental patients’ gums, where they collect bacteria, which can cause infection. NICE.

When brushing your teeth with this toothpaste, the gum channel (“sulcus”) is getting scrubbed with pieces of plastic, some of which become trapped. This is one way gingivitis begins. If left untreated, it can lead to infection that can move from the gum into the bone that holds your teeth… that turns into periodontal disease… which is bad news.

Wising up, Crest has agreed to eliminate the plastic beads from products as of March 2016. Until then (and forthright), avoid microbeads!! Tell your friends, too. By not purchasing these products, we are saving the mouths of fellow Americans, helping out the water system and letting fish live another day. To do so, check packaging and look for polyethylene as an ingredient. Avoid product that contains polyethylene.

Well, that’s my informational burst for the day. In other news, I went apple picking today! It was glorious – more on that later. I also went climbing today with Max and Sarah and had a really good climbing day for the second day in a row!! I think maybe I’m actually progressing a little bit.
Finally, I have made another great dehydrator success! Max bought my beautiful roses last week, and once they lost their spark, I dehydrated them. They came out great, and SO fragrant; fruity almost. I definitely have potpourri and rose tea in my future. What else can be done with dried rose petals? Anyone?
Rose1
Good night, turtle doves. Kisses and Hugs.
About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

