Newport Folk Festival L<3ve

Standard

My beauties! Hello!

It’s been almost three weeks 😦 I’m sorry for that. I don’t really have an excuse besides work and climbing, so you’re just going to have to love me regardless.

That Sunset Doe

How are things?

I miss France today. Who am I kidding, I miss France everyday… but today I am feeling especially sick for what became my second home (or third, behind Burlington MAYBE). Alas, there’s not much I can do about that currently; c’est la vie. I think I have this undiagnosed (well, I’m diagnosing it now) problem where I have to travel or explore a new place every other week or so or I go a little stir crazy.

Why can’t some rich awesome person just hand me stacks of bills so I can travel the world opening eco-friendly and sustainable juice bars that use local produce? If you know of someone who fits the bill, I’m ready and waiting.

On a more realistic note, t seems like you all enjoyed my last post on The Gunks; thanks for that. I enjoy all of you, too. I promised that I would share about some of my other gypsy endeavors, so here it goes!

Over Newport

Sunset Over Newport

July 26th, 2014: THE NEWPORT FOLK FESTIVAL!!! That’s right, I scored tickets. My amazing friend Sarah, who happens to also be a champion concert go-er such as myself, used some gypsy magic to obtain us last minute tickets to (in my opinion) the best day of the weekend long festival. The best part? We paid LESS than face value! It was awesome.

Saturday Lineup

Saturday Lineup

As you can see, it was a pretty fantastic lineup of performers. My favorites were of course Deer Tick, but Jack White and The Oh Hellos came in close behind.

Deer Tick Looking Sharp!

Deer Tick Looking Sharp!

I just can’t get enough of Jon’s (Deer Tick’s lead singer) voice; it’s downright magical. His very pregnant wife, Vanessa Carlton, must think so too.

Vanessa Carlton making a guest appearance!

Vanessa Carlton making a guest appearance!

I had not been to the Newport Folk Festival in years because of it’s growing popularity and tickets selling out so damn fast, and I’m sad I had been missing out! It really is a magical place, right at Fort Adams on the water. So stunning and all the people there are friendly. However, I tend to be a big mush when it comes to music festivals, so maybe I’m a little bias. Regardless, I will definitely be returning and all of you should, too! My goal is to be a vendor there sometime in the near future — you can probably guess for what.

Jon

Sooooo, I had all these grand intentions to share more epic adventures will all of you sweet souls, but Max has just informed me that he needs my assistance with acquiring his car. And since I have been carting his bum around for the past 3+ weeks, I’m pretty eager to oblige. HOWEVER, I promise that I will be better with keeping you all updated on my life. It’s exciting, after all!

Before I leave, here’s a picture of the one purchase I made the the fest. I am in need of belts with all this epic rock climbing I have been doing, and this one was handcrafted, beautiful and inexpensive… so how could I say no?

IMG_7026Stay rockin’

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

