The Gunks

Standard

Hey babes!

Okay, so maybe I’ve been a little behind the ball lately with my blogging.
HOWEVER, I have excuses: I’m being a gypsy again! I missed my traveling lifestyle, and I’m quite pleased that I’ve been able to get back at it a little bit. Of course, I’m still working a ton – but that’s how she goes, and how it will go probably until I retire (yikes). I’m just happy that I can finally find a balance between work and play that satisfies me. I’m going to consider that a very good thing.

As promised, I wanted to tell you all about my travels! I’ll start with the first one: The Gunks. Also known as Shawangunk Mountains located near New Paltz, New York. It was Max’s birthday on July 18th, so we left that Friday after I was done with work and made the trek to NY.
As you may know, we have been getting really into rock climbing lately, and for his birthday, Max wanted to go outdoor climbing. Well, that’s exactly what we did! I bought a room at River Hill Bed & Breakfast in Milton, NY for his present and we spent Friday and Saturday climbing real rocks in one of the most premier climbing spots in this part of the country.

View of the Hudson River from our B&B

View of the Hudson River from our B&B

It was awesome. We only did bouldering since we don’t have all the gear to do top-roping/trad climbing, but even so it was a really good time. Granted, we didn’t climb a TON, but we got ourselves acclimated to the outdoors and were able to get to know the area. We will definitely be back, I have my sights set on those crazy trad routes. There were still plenty of boulder problems to keep us busy for the weekend and then some, so I was pleased as punch.

Our bed and breakfast was also a home run. Ellen, the keeper, is an incredibly sweet woman who cooked some killer bread and turned it into french toast. Um, YUM. You know a quick way to my heart is through my stomach. She also let me take a bunch of her old National Geographic magazines, which is another passion of mine (I will work for you someday NatGeo… you’ve been warned), so basically she rocks. I think I would make a pretty good B&B owner as an old lady: note to self.

Peep those coasters!! So cute!

Peep those coasters!! So cute!

The area around Shawangunk is also pretty radical; I thoroughly enjoyed spending time there. They had local honey, jam and farm stands everywhere, which light up the Vermonter in me, and the restaurants that we went to were all de-lic-ious. If I remember correctly, we hit up Lemon Grass, which was a spicy Thai food restaurant and Mountain Brauhaus, an authentic German restaurant.

Could I live full-time that much in the mountains? Probably not. However, owning a nice log cabin in that area would be AWESOME. I could climb epic mountains whenever I wanted, and the view really is phenomenal. If any of you ever have the chance to visit to The Gunks, take it. Even if you don’t climb rocks, the trails are super hiker friendly and the nature there is just breathtaking. It makes me a little sad that there aren’t more places like this in the North East; suburbia is taking over in a way I’m not really okay with. Mer.

Now for the good stuff — pictures!

Max posing for the view

Max posing for the view

Coffee overlooking the Hudson? I'll take that.

Coffee overlooking the Hudson? I’ll take that.

Rock at Peter's Kill

Rock at Peter’s Kill

Another Boulder At Peter's Kill

Another Boulder At Peter’s Kill

Main Boulder We Did at The Trapps

Main Boulder We Did at The Trapps

Another Trapps Boulder we climbed successfully

Another Trapps Boulder we climbed successfully

Alrighty, I think that’s enough for me today. I still have to catch you up on my last two weekends, but that’s going to have to wait a bit. In other news, ONE MORE DAY ON MY LYME MEDICATION!!! I’m almost not a sickly human anymore!! 30 days of doxycycline is just so uncool, especially in the summertime when it’s so nice out and I have sun sensitivity.

Laters. xxoo

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Newport Folk Festival L<3ve | azuremarie

Share Those Thoughts

