Look Pretty When You Go

Standard

Howdy Darlings!

Just saying a quick hello – it’s member appreciation day today at LA Fitness… and considering The Power Bar is located within, we’re sort of obligated to participate. Which means we have killer deals, and that we get super busy, which in turn means that I basically have to work all day today. Woop (not).

I did however have Saturday off, which was nice. I’ve been eating a lot of good food with Max lately and spending a bunch of time outside in the sunshine, so life is good. I’ve got no complaints – hope you all are doing just as well!

To tide you over until I can actually create a nice original post, here’s an artist who honored dead animals by making them pretty death beds. I want to lie on a bed this nice when I finally kick the bucket, fyi.

Russian photographer Maria Ionova-Gribina’s unique but morbid Natura Morta project lets us look into the saddest part of nature’s cycle – death. In these beautiful photographs, the animals look like they’re sleeping peacefully, with birds dreaming of flight and rabbits of running. The photographer reveals how this idea of honoring dead animals came to her:

“When me and my brother found a dead mole, bird or bug we buried them on the border of a forest. And we decorated the grave with flowers and stones.” She decided to continue the tradition while also taking beautiful photographs of animals that died naturally or after accidents with cars. The flowers used in these photos were gathered near the animals and in the photographer’s  garden.

Source: Website (h/t: thisisnthappiness)

honoring-dead-animals-natura-morte-marina-ionowa-gribina-3

honoring-dead-animals-natura-morte-marina-ionowa-gribina-7

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

