Just Climb It

Standard

Let me tell you – I am absolutely drained. In a fantastic way, though, so I really shouldn’t be complaining. But alas, I just did. Boom.

I think I’m becoming addicted to climbing. Especially outdoor climbing. I looked up the definition just out of curiosity:

ad·dict·ed

[uhdik-tid]
adjective

devoted or given up to a practice or habit or to something psychologically or physically habit-forming (usually followed by to).
Okay, so maybe I don’t have a shrine in my basement devoted to rocks, but I’ve realized that almost every minute not spent at work, is spent climbing. Sizable chunk of free time? Oh yes – I climb during it.
Well, you know what? I dig it. It’s epic. Climbing is a heady combination of amazing things.
~  First of all, weather permitting, I get to spend time outside. In the sunshine. I don’t know about you, but being outdoors in the sunshine is just awesome. It makes me feel alive and I couldn’t imagine a lifestyle that didn’t involve the outdoors.
~  Next, climbing is a group activity when you want it to be, and a solo activity when you want it to be. It’s also awesome because you can aid others and vice versa. You aren’t competing with other humans; it’s you and the rock (well – besides competitions). Personally, I love that it a sport that Max and I do together – it’s such an awesome thing for couples to do.
~  Climbing also gets your heart racing. It’s a full on adrenaline sport, but at the same time you have to use your brain and be intelligent.
~  Then, there’s still the fact that it is a fantastic form of exercise and gets you in killer shape. Cool thanks.
Now I’m going to make you jealous with all my adventure living 😀
Last weekend, Max and I spent Saturday morning top-roping outdoors for the first time at Quincy Quarries thanks to Rock Spot Climbing. A great guy named Geoff showed myself, Max and a few others how to tie some knots, but mainly we just got a feeling for climbing long routes outdoors. I loved it.
Quincy QuarriesAfterwards, Max and I continued on to Rock Spot Climbing in Dedham since we were already in the area and bouldered for a good amount of time afterwards. I donated $2 to write my name on the wall as well, so my name will forever me in Dedham. They also have a hula hoop, and if you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you know about me and hoops. It made me miss mine and I’m probably going to order two new ones after this post.
On Monday, Max bit the bullet and bought his own crash pad, so we of course had to test it out that day. We did a short climbing session at Goddard Park but then I got grouchy and the sun went down, so that was that. Tuesday was a fun day for me because I got to go to the Sysco Food Show in Newport and drink free wine and eat free food. Wednesday I climbed at Rock Spot and Friday I spent the day outdoors walking Hunter at Goddard Park and swimming and hiking at Carrs Pond with some peeps.
Saturday and Sunday were breeds of their own. Max and I did a Top-Roping 101 course at Snake Den with Josh and Christina. Our instructor, Paul (who I have the goal of befriending. I need climbing friends), taught us how to do all sorts of things to make sure we don’t die when top-roping outside. Between the four of us we’ve got it down pretty darn good, and now all I have to do is buy the equipment. Lucky for me I have a job! Stay tuned for that purchase, there will most likely be pictures.
After Snake Den, Max and I took a short break then drove to Lincoln Woods to do some bouldering. I top-ed out on two routes!! Not mega-easy ones, either. My strength is growing and I can’t wait to push myself on these routes all summer and full!
Flash forward to today, where after work, Max and I took a walking tour of Lincoln Woods and the bouldering problems to be held there by a lovely lady names Kris. Climbing people are so nice – Max and I even swapped e-mails with the kids in the tour, so we may have a climbing group in the works! Wahwahweewah.
So yeah.. that’s why I’m tired. I spent many hours this weekend outdoors, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Now I just need to start riding again and I’ll be one happy girl this summer.
Hula hoop shopping time! Enjoy the rest of your Sunday, stay awesome.

 

 

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

