Holy Sh*t … I Mean, Shot.

Standard

Happy Friday!
If you’re currently residing in Rhode Island like myself, the weather isn’t exactly happy, but it’s not like we can change that. Carpe diem, baby. At least our farms will be drinking it all up (pun intended).

As of yesterday, I’ve come down with some sickness that has yet to be named. I have flu-like symptoms, but it could potentially be Lyme, which would so NOT be cool. However, since I have been rock climbing outside lately it isn’t an entirely far-fetched idea. Either way I am getting blood work done this morning so hopefully the mystery will be solved, and thank the lord for that because I am bored!! I’m so used to working crazy long weeks lately that when I have almost a full day off to lay in bed and actually recuperate, I start climbing the walls within two hours.

On the bright side, you all get to benefit from my home confinement because I actually have time to post things! I know, you’re over the moon with excitement – me too.

Since I put myself to bed at 9:30 last night, I was up and rearing to go (minus the intense stomach pain) at 7:15 this morning. I had nothing better to do with my life, so I decided to have a little photo shoot with this lovely thing called The Holy Shot that we serve at The Power Bar.

Basically, it is a 4 oz shot with a base of filtered water, then you add in about 3 shakes of cayenne pepper, 1/2 of a lemon, and about 1/2 teaspoon of freshly minced ginger. This puppy wakes you up with a *bang!* and can also help with various ailments that you may be suffering from.

The Ingredients

What goes inside (minus h2o)

Now, just so you don’t think I am pulling your leg, here are the benefits of this mighty shot. I didn’t include water because… well, you should know that water is good for you. You can’t exactly survive without it.

Lemon: natural energizer (fights fatigue), flushes out unwanted materials, balances pH, helps hypertension, aids in weight loss (digestive aid), boosts immune system, helps with fever and chills, is antibacterial and abolishes acne.

Ginger: helps with migraines, muscle pain caused by exercise, inflammation of the colon, menstrual cramps, morning sickness, nausea caused by chemotherapy (if taken before), liver damage caused by acetaminophen (aka Tylenol), high blood pressure, asthma, diarrhea, bronchitis, arthritis, digestion, and the most amazing discover is helping cure ovarian cancer. A study found that exposing ovarian cancer cells to a solution of ginger powder resulted in their death in every single test – the cells either committed suicide (apoptosis) or digested/attacked themselves (autophagy).

Cayenne Pepper: Digestive aid, anti-irritant like upset stomach, ulcers, coughs, diarrhea and sore throats, anti-cold and flu agent, anti-fungal properties, migraine/headache prevention, helps with allergies, useful for blood clots, circulatory stimulant, joint-pain reliever, aids in weight loss, helps prevent lung cancer in smokers, promotes heart health, great for tooth and gum diseases.

Hail The Holy Shot

Hail The Holy Shot

Well, there you have it! Isn’t it cool looking? I sprinkled more cayenne on top for aesthetics; I probably wouldn’t drink it like that – I re-blended it for myself afterwards.

I’m off to get some blood work done, wish me luck!!!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

