Detox Your Socks Off: Cleansing Through Juices

Standard

Hello my loves!

As a precursor to this blog post, I should probably warn you that I have had a Heady Topper with my dinner. Don’t know what a Heady Topper is? I am truly sorry. It is greatness in a can that is only brewed in one of my favorite states: Vermont. It has the extreme hoppiness of an IPA and well, it is my favorite beer that exists on this planet. Here’s the packaging to get a gist for what this beer really entails.

Heady Label bottle

Anyway. I know I should be catching you up with my West Coast escapades, but I want to mix it up a little bit tonight and tell you about my juice cleanse that I just finished yesterday. First of all, let me tell you: IT WAS BRUTAL. If you ever talk to someone who tells you that going on a detox juice cleanse is easy, they are lying to you.

As you may know, I currently work at an amazing juice bar, and I recently accepted a job (that starts next week!) where I am actually co-founding a new juice bar in Rhode Island, so juicing definitely has its claws in my life. We offer a detox juice cleanse at Raw Bobs, so I am constantly giving people advice throughout their cleanses, but I had never actually given it a try for myself.

After my travels, I  came down with a persistent cold, and I figured this was as good a time as ever to actually practice what I preach… hence the start of my juice cleanse!

Here’s the breakdown:

I did a three-day cleanse. I had hopes to do five days, but let’s face it: I love food. I love making it, I love looking at it, and I especially love eating it, so three days was as much as I could bear.

When doing a cleanse, please be sure to not exert a ton of energy. You are healing your body from the inside, so it is crucial to not kill yourself physically — give your lovely self those days to relax; let your body recuperate. I went rock climbing on my second day, but it was an easy climb. I just couldn’t stay inactive. I have a problem; oh well. I probably wouldn’t recommend that to everyone though. You must remember.. I work at a juice bar. Juicing is a huge part of my life, so going on a cleanse was not as difficult for me as it is for the general public.

ANYWAY. Here are the rules of my juice cleanse: for 3 days, drink five 16 oz juices (six if you are a male), followed by 32 ounces of water per juice. This way, you are keeping yourself hydrated, as well as flushing out all that nastiness that calls your body its home.

A Quick Pic From Portland

A Quick Pic From Portland

Below, I will post my personal juices that I used, but don’t feel obligated to use those on your own cleanse. Yes, mine are quite ideal because they are super low in calories and are jam-packed with nutrients, but I can’t boast that they taste mega-delicious. I tried to make them as yummy as possible for me, but it’s a detox cleanse; it is not all rainbows and unicorns. If you do decide to deviate from my menu, please try and avoid fruits — sugar is a no-go! Stick with the greens, and have as many veggies in your juices as possible.

All in all, I recommend that everyone try this at least once in their lives. I’ve got to say, this nipped my cold in the butt AND I lost 7 pounds in 3 days!! BOO-YAH. If you want anymore information about juice cleanses, please don’t hesitate to ask me.

Les Juices:
Day One: Green apple, kale, lemon, ginger, cayenne (2 juices)
Kale, celery, cucumber, grapefruit, cilantro, basil (2 juices)
Beet, dandelion, lemon, turmeric, mint (1 juice)

Day Two: Celery, tomato, mint, ginger, beet greens, mango (2 juices)
Kale, lemon, cucumber, burdock, apple, cayenne (2 juices)
Beet, dandelion, lemon, ginger, mint, pear (1 juice)

Day Three: Celery, tomato, basil, spinach, lime (1 juice)
Kale, lemon, cayenne, red pepper, pineapple, parsley, cilantro (1 juice)
Beet, apple, carrot, lemon, ginger (1 juice)
Red pepper, cilantro, ginger, cucumber, celery, blackberries (1 juice)
Dandelion, green apple, burdock, celery, lemon (1 juice)

You are all awesome; stay that way! 😀

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

