Portlandia

Standard

Hello, loves!

Sorry I haven’t been so awesome at blogging lately. However, I was on vacation and didn’t always have computer access or time, so hopefully you all forgive me a teensy bit. Now, I’m just busy with life big decisions – more on that later. Anyway, want to hear more about my time in Portland?

Thursday, March 27th: Woke up at a pretty decent time, showered and gathered myself up for another day of adventuring in Portland, Oregon!

Portland FlowersThe weather was quite lovely, so I wanted to take advantage of that, which meant that my destination was Washington Park. It was absolutely stunning!! Such amazing trails; I was out and about hiking on them for at least 2.5 hours, touching and smelling all the trees that I could. I can’t help it, I feel at best when I’m in touch with nature, especially nature as breathtaking as the Oregon woods.

Washington Park

<3

So Majestic ❤

Hairy Woman

Hairy Woman

After I explored all the trails that I could before my legs felt like they were about to fall off, I entered the Portland Japanese Garden, which was gorgeous. Just look at the pictures I captured! It was a little slice of tranquility; I even took some time to munch on a baby avocado that I had brought, just taking in the sights, smells and sounds. I loved it.

IMG_5673

Baby Avocado

Baby Avocado

Once I had my fill of the Japanese Garden, my final stop in Washington Park was the International Rose Test Garden. Sadly, there were no roses or even buds, but it was the end of March, so I wasn’t expecting anything. It was still cool to see all the different species of roses that they grow there, and there was a pretty amazing amphitheater on the edge of the garden. There also happened to be an older couple dancing on the stage of the theater… it was so heartwarming and just made my fall in love with the West Coast that much more.

IMG_5668Eventually, I had to bring my trailblazing to an end. Mostly because I was hungry and needed to sit down for a little bit to give my hardworking legs a bit of a break.

After getting directions from a lovely woman working at the Rose Garden Shoppe (she gave me rose tea — so tasty), I was surprised as to how close I was to downtown Portland! I didn’t even have to take the Max; I wound up walking down a giant hill with lovely houses lining it and was spit out onto Burnside – a very main street in Portland, one that I spent a great deal of time exploring.

Considering I was feeling quite hungry, I had to stop for lunch. I walked into a restaurant called Pizzicato, where I ordered a sandwich with turkey, homemade pesto and tomato with a side salad and homemade balsamic vinegar dressing. It was delicious and cost me about $6, score! Pizzicato also had the most adorable artwork on the wall, check them out below. I also went into a chocolate and sweets shop, Moonstruck and ohhh man it was mouth-watering! I had a tiramisu macaroon and a dark chocolate espresso treat. Stop by this place if you are ever in the area.

Mmmmm

Mmmmm

Gold Digger

Gold Digger

Garlic-A-Scent

Garlic-A-Scent

Tasty Treats

Tasty Treats

Let’s see; I spent the next hour or so just soaking in the sights and sounds of Portland, and then met up with Natasha and did some grocery shopping for our dinner. We wound up making steak fajitas with homemade guacamole with all the fix-in’s that our hearts desired. Plus, we paired it with some pear wine — which was quite tasty! Then we just hung out and watched some Grey’s Anatomy before bed. Second full day = success.

I swear I’ll catch you up fully soon!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

