Spring Has Sprung (Hopefully)

Standard

Hi Friends!
First of all, a big loving welcome to my newest followers! I’ve surpassed the 100 mark (by 1 hehe, still counts!) and I’m over the moon about it – thank you so much! As always, if you have any recommendations or requests, I am more than open to them. In fact, I adore them.

Secondly, HAPPY FIRST DAY OF SPRING!!! Yes, that is today — so excitedddd. Fun fact: the meteorological spring actually began on March 1, though I saw no signs of that. I’m watching the weather currently and today is going to be beautiful, getting up to 55; unfortunately, it’s not going to last -_- at least in Rhode Island; we’ll be getting back down to the 30s at least until next Wednesday. Meh, let’s not dwell on that.. for now, think Spring! If you can, go outside today and absorb some much needed Vitamin D. Soon enough, my dears, our days will be getting longer and warmer.

Perhaps you’re curious to know as to why today is considered the first day of Spring? Well, March 20th marks the Spring, or Vernal Equinox. An equinox occurs twice a year, and it is when the plane of Earth’s equator passes the center of the Sun.

Equinox

The word “equinox” comes from the Latin words aequus (equal) and nox (night), and on the Equinox, day and night are both approximately 12 hours each. At this time, the tilt of the Earth’s axis is inclined neither away from nor towards the Sun, but after today, the sun’s direct rays shift into the Northern Hemisphere for the next six months. That means that we will receive more direct sunlight, hence the warmer temperatures.

Certain celebrations around the world like Nowruz (the Persian New Year), Easter and Passover are marked by the Equinox, and the great Sphinx actually points toward the rising sun on the date of the Spring Equinox – as usual, our ancients were on point.

In other news, I wanted to share this video. The woman here is amazing, and it makes my heart swell a bit to know that there are beautiful people like this out there willing to take charge for the greater good.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

Share Those Thoughts

