Greek Grub & The Gardens of Busch

Standard

Howdy!
Well, I’m back in The Ocean State. Actually, I got back on Thursday morning but just haven’t had much time to blog… my apologies! I’ll re-cap some more of my mini-vaca for yah, though!

Tuesday morning, Max and I woke up decently early (for a vacation, anyway), made some breakfast then promptly popped in the cars to head to Tampa. I drove his mom’s new Honda Civic and Max drove the rental car, since we had to return it in Tampa that afternoon. It was about an hours drive, not so bad. After we returned the car and paid our dues – which Payless screwed us on, don’t rent from them if you have other options – then we headed to Busch Gardens!!

I had never been before, so I pretty much planted the seed for us going; plus, my parents were nice enough to treat us to a day at the park. We got there a bit before 1 and stayed until about 5:30, the perfect amount of time in my opinion to stay at a theme park like that. We saw a bunch of animals, soaked in the sites/activities they had to offer, and went on a few intense roller coasters… it was a great time! I didn’t take too many pictures, but here’s what I did manage to snap:

GatorsGatorTiger
They had 16 huuuuge male alligators there! Max and I asked the gator handlers a bunch of questions… they seemed to really like and enjoy the animals, which was nice to see; especially with so much animal cruelty in the world these days (stay tuned for a really pissed off post I’m going to be writing in regards to this). I still had a gigantic urge to free the majority of the park animals, however, but because that’s super illegal I didn’t make any moves. Poor big kitties 😦

Sleepy GirlSketchin'

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve got to say, the hyenas creep me out a bit. They have this murderous look about them that doesn’t sit well with me. Probably because they know they are essentially in prison being oogled at day in and day out. Can’t say I blame them. It was cool to get this close to them, though. They looked like they could use a good cuddle session.

Bird Dance^^ That is a terrible picture of me. Don’t judge. Max took way better ones but in a moment of absentmindedness I deleted them. Fail.

That’s all for pictures from Busch Gardens, unfortunately. I would highly recommend riding the roller coasters if you’re a thrill seeker. They aren’t the most intense I’ve ever been on, but they were still pretty gnarly. Some had upside-down loops, some had twists, some had plummeting drops – it was a good mixture.

Once we were finished with Busch Gardens, Max and I made the trek back to Port Richey to meet up with the ladies. We showered quickly and doubled back to an area called Tarpon Springs, which is famous for its sea sponges and Greek population. Our reason for going there was this delicious restaurant called Hella’s where I gorged hard. It was amazing. Here’s what I ordered:

Combination PlateOooooh it was so good! We started with appetizers of pita bread and three different dips: hummus, tzatziki and a lemon potato spread. What you see pictured above was my meal, the combination platter. It consisted of Gyro, Mousaka, Pastitsio, Dolmades and tzatziki sauce. Sooo delicious, I highly recommend it. The service wasn’t super awesome, but the food made up for it.

After our meal, we were all in a sufficient food coma, so we went home, Max and I had a few beers, and we nestled in bed to watch a rock climbing documentary featuring all the current greats like Chris Sharma, Adam Ondra, Alex Honnold along with a few other badasses. Thus concludes our second full day!
Well… that’s all I have time for right now! I’m off to go hang out with Max for a little bit before work, then afterwards we’re having a double date rock climbing session with my co-worker and his wife. Wish us luck! Stay awesome.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

