Skinsational

Standard

What’s up my friends? One thing that is up for certain: my amount of followers! I’m up to 87 now I believe, THANK YOU!! I hope I’m making your days a little brighter and giving you some information that is actually useful to you. As always, I adore your feedback, so don’t hesitate if you have anything to share/ask/whatever!

As you may or may not know, I am in the process of working into my daily diet foods that are proven to have amazing benefits for the skin. I want skin that glows with the white hot intensity of 1,000 suns.
My first post gave a list, so please if you missed it, check it out. I wanted to adhere to my promise and expand a little on each ingredient; there’s a lot, so I will do them in bite-size chunks of 5.

Before I get to that, though, I wanted to share another recipe that I concocted with said beneficial foods. It’s a little on the tart side, but quite delicious! Enjoy 😀

Skin SmoothieIngredients

In case you can’t see what the ingredients are in the picture, I’ll list them here for you: 1/2 cup homemade almond milk, 4 tablespoons Greek yogurt, 1/2 stalk kale without stem, handful oats, large pinch of alfalfa sprouts, 1/4 cup pomegranate juice, handful of blackberries, raspberries, cranberries and blueberries. ALL of those ingredients are known to be beneficial for your skin… score one for the home team!

Okay, now for the breakdown:

Cocoa: Cocoa hydrates your skin, making it firmer and more supple. Dark chocolate is even better, containing high levels of flavonols, a potent type of antioxidant. For maximum flavonol content, eat chocolate that’s at least 70% cacao. A couple of squares a day should be enough to improve luminosity. Also, when applied topically, the caffeine in chocolate may temporarily reduce skin puffiness.

Yogurt: The protein you get from eating dairy helps skin become firmer, making it more resistant to lines, with Greek yogurt being especially beneficial; the protein content of Greek yogurt is often double that of regular yogurt. Eat a single serving each day to smooth out your complexion.

Pomegranate: These puppies are packed with polyphenol antioxidants, which fight free radicals and regulate skin’s blood flow, giving it rosiness. One pomegranate or a few glasses of juice daily should do the deed. If you apply it to your skin, the fruits’ antioxidants help smooth lines and moisturize.

Walnuts: Walnuts contain omega-3 essential fatty acids, which improves skin’s elasticity. These nuts are also loaded with copper, a mineral that boosts collagen production. Snacking on a handful of walnuts each day should help to improve your complexion’s texture.

Peppers: According to Dr. Wu, women who eat green and yellow vegetables regularly tend to have fewer wrinkles, especially around the eyes. Studies also have found that carotenoids — the antioxidants in yellow and orange veggies — can decrease skin’s sensitivity to the sun. I would aim for about two cups of peppers daily.

There you have it, my dears. I am proud to say that today I have incorporated all of the recommended amounts of these ingredients into my diet, so here’s to hopefully getting that glowing skin.
You are all beautiful and talented individuals; always remember that, and don’t forget to smile!

Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Tea-Tastic | azuremarie

Share Those Thoughts

