Paleo Breakfast Bars

Standard

Bonjour lovelies!

As I have mentioned in prior posts, I have been making almond milk and turning the almond pulp that is leftover from the milking process into almond flour; something that is oh-so-easy and I highly recommend doing. Just take a gander at this chart to see how much better it is for you than some alternatives!

 Nutrition Info (100g)  Protein  Carbohydrates  Glycemic Index  Fiber
 Almond Flour  21.94 g  19.44 g  < 1  10.4 g
 White Wheat Flour  9.71 g  76.22 g  71  2.4 g
 Rice Flour  5.95 g  80.13 g  98  2.4 g

Anyway, I made some more almond flour the other day…
Almond Flour From Scratch

It came out perfect, but I wanted to make use of it in the same day since I had the time, so I scoured the internet for some good recipes that incorporated the ingredients I had on hand, and this is what I came up with. Now, I didn’t follow this recipe exactly since I didn’t have everything that it called for, and I added some tweaks of my own. Here’s what I really used:

Ingredients: for 16 bars
– 1 cup almond flour
– 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
– 1/4 cup coconut oil
– 2 tablespoons honey
– 1 tablespoon water
– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
– 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
– 1/4 cup raisins
– 1/4 cup sesame seeds
– 1/4 cup dried cranberries
– 1/4 cup walnuts
– 1/4 cup dates

Instructions:
1. In a food processor, combine almond flour and salt.
2. Pulse in coconut oil, honey, water and vanilla.
3. Pulse in everything else! Make sure all is blended together.
4. Press dough into an 8×8 baking dish (wet hands with water to pat down).
5. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes.
4. Cool bars in pan for 2 hours, then enjoy!

Ze Bars

Bars Cut

Aren’t they pretty?! Have a great day, everyone… don’t forget to smile!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

Share Those Thoughts

