Foods For Glowing Skin

Standard

Hello, darlings!

I’m on a new kick where I have been researching what foods are good for specific areas of the body or help with different ailments. I figure if I want to open my own juice bar in the future, I should know how to help people who are trying to hone in on certain issues. This is going to be a lengthy process, but I feel as if it will be very rewarding when I can actually help people better themselves simply through a better diet; and guess what? You get to take the journey with me and learn without even doing any work! How great is that? I aim to please. You’re welcome.

Anyway, the first area I would like to focus on is the skin and how to make it supple, beautiful and as fresh as possible. I can’t say I have terrible skin (probably due to my diet), but it’s not perfect, and I want to try and have skin as awesome as a [clean] baby’s bottom, so I will of course be experimenting on myself and letting you know what seems to be working and what doesn’t. For now, I’m going to strictly focus on food and drink that will help improve skin; I try to stay away from products as often as possible – although there are organic, additive-free products out there, ask me if you’re interested, I have a list!

Here goes nothing. There are a LOT of foods that are beneficial for the skin, so first I will give a list, then break them all down so you know why they are good at a later date so as not to completely overwhelm you… which means this will be a multi-part post. Be sure to check back!

Foods That Are Good For The Skin
– Dark Choc (70%)                                   – Yogurt (preferably Greek)
– Pomegranate                                          – Walnuts
– Yellow & Orange Bell Peppers            – Sunflower Seeds
– Kidney Beans                                         – Soy
– Oatmeal                                                   – Green Tea
– Nettles                                                     – Dark Berries
– Peppermint                                            – Nuts (Brazilian)
– Tomato                                                    – Watercress
– Water                                                        – Fennel
– Oat Milk                                                   – Red Grapes
– Beetroot                                                    – Tofu
– Brown Rice                                               – Kale
– Avocado                                                     – Legumes [peas/beans/lentils]
– Garlic                                                        – Alfalfa Sprouts
– Broccoli                                                    – Artichoke
– Eggs                                                          – Burdock
– Cottage Cheese                                       – Sweet Potato
– Acai                                                           – Mackerel
– Salmon                                                     – Oysters
– Pumpkin Seeds

Pretty gnarly list, huh? Personally, I think that it’s amazing that all these foods have great skin benefits; that means I can make so many different varieties of tasty yummy-ness!

Actually, I already started. For lunch, I made myself a juice that was packed with some of the above mentioned foods, along with other goodies that are grand for you; here’s what it looked like:
Great Skin JuiceThis badboy is potent, so I would probably not recommend it to someone who is very picky and is not familiar with juicing. However, if you are capable of chugging down drinks solely for the benefits, you’ll be okay. I honestly think this isn’t a bad tasting drink for what it has inside; it has garlic, which is the only thing that I need to get used to, but hey, if it’s good for me.. I’ll learn to love it!

Peep the ingredients:
Ingredients

What’s Inside:
– 10 Grape Tomatoes
– 1 Red Bell Pepper (use yellow or orange if you can – this was all I had in the fridge)
– 1/2 Avocado (this was a FAIL in the juicer, so I would not recommend. I’ll use it for a smoothie at a later date)
– 1 nub Turmeric
– 1 nub Ginger
– Small bunch Parsley
– Small handful Raspberries
– Large handful Blueberries
– 1/2 Lemon
– 1 clove Garlic**

… Phew! I could actually drink this one on a regular basis, but I will also be experimenting with the other beneficial foods listed above; on the search for the best juice as far as taste AND benefits are concerned!

** Garlic, as you may know, is a potent little sucker, and I wasn’t sure how it was going to juice in my home juicer, so I used this trick that had phenomenal results. Please use this when juicing garlic, otherwise you may not be getting all the benefits you need! You get the most out of garlic when eaten raw, and it is even more beneficial when juiced. However, the smell lingers, so I wrapped my garlic clove up in a bunch of parsley – the chlorophyll from the parsley binds to the smell – then I tucked the wrapped bunch inside half of a bell pepper and slowly fed it through the juicer.
Juice your garlic bunch first so all the other fruits and veggies flush thru, thus eradicating the smell. It takes some getting used to, but my research proves that it gets much easier over time, and you can even learn to like the taste.

Good luck my juicing gods and goddesses!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

6 responses »

  1. Very fun read 🙂 I just did one on foods for your skin as well. If you get a chance I’d love for you to check out my blog and let me know what you think 🙂 Best, Meg

  2. Pingback: Skinsational | azuremarie

  3. Pingback: Tea-Tastic | azuremarie

  4. Pingback: Violet, You’re Turning Violet! | azuremarie

Share Those Thoughts

