Energize With A Breakfast Blend

Standard

Howdy!

I hope everyone is making the best of what I pray will be the last chunk of winter weather – it’s chilly again where I am and it’s such a tease considering the two decently toasty days we’ve just had. However, I made a tasty smoothie to start the day off right! It’s best in the morning since it is catered towards giving you the energy your body needs in the am, but of course slug this sucker back whenever you have the time. It’s a great alternative to coffee for all you caffeine addicts out there 😉

EnergizeSo, what’s inside? For one large serving:
– 4-5 strawberries (if fresh: add ice if you want it extra cold, if frozen: let thaw a little)
– 1 banana
– 1/2 cup homemade almond milk*
– 1/2 container (3 ounces) greek vanilla yogurt (lemon would also be tasty)
– 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions: Too easy! Combine all ingredients and blend until smooth. Serve & enjoy immediately.

*I always try to utilize my homemade almond milk because 1) it is delicious and nutritious and I know exactly what is inside of it and 2) fresh almond milk only lasts about 4 days, so use it or lose it! However, if you don’t have almond milk, cow or soy milk should do just fine. If you have vanilla soy milk, that would compliment the drink nicely.

Energy Ingredients

I saw a similar recipe to this one and it wanted 1/6 cup powdered sugar to be added. Personally, I believe that the natural sugars in the fruits are plenty and no extra sugar is needed; this drink is sweet enough on its own. Powdered sugar just adds unnecessary calories and as you should know, it isn’t exactly the best thing for our bodies, so embrace the natural sugars — without additives!

That’s all for now; I already hit the gym this morning so I have a little time to kill before work, maybe I’ll make some banana bread! Peace and love and all things nice.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

