Utilizing It All: Almond Pulp Cookies

Standard

Remember how I’ve been making my own almond milk? Well, last round, I saved the almond pulp and today I decided to put it to good use, with the help of this recipe.

Almond Pulp

Almond Pulp

First, I had to turn the almond milk pulp that I had been storing in my refrigerator into almond pulp flour. It was quite easy; I just broke up my almond pulp into the smallest pieces that I could, and placed them on a baking sheet. If you have a dehydrator, simply dehydrate them in that. I don’t own one, however, so I dehydrated them by setting my oven to 135°F (it’s the lowest my convection oven would go to) and letting them hang in the oven for a little over 5 hours. It can take anywhere from 4-8 hours, though. Once they are hard and completely dry, simply process them in a blender/food processor until they make a fine powder, and voila! You’ve got homemade almond pulp flour.

Almond Flour

Almond Flour

Now, you’re ready to make almond pulp cookies! As a note, I used all organic ingredients because that’s what we have in my pantry, but that is not a necessity.. just healthier 😉
What you’ll need: (yields roughly 20 cookies)

  • 10 Tb peanut butter
  • 4 Tb honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • few pinches of salt
  • 1 cup almond pulp flour
  • 4 Tb chopped dark  chocolate
 Instructions
  1. In a medium bowl, mix peanut butter, honey, vanilla, salt, and almond pulp flour together until thoroughly combined.
  2. Stir in chopped chocolate.
  3. Roll into tablespoon sized balls; serve or store in an airtight container in the refrigerator – that’s right, you don’t even have to bake them!
Almond Pulp Cookies

Almond Pulp Cookies

Not only are these bite-sized morsels super easy to make, but they used almond pulp that may have otherwise been thrown away, AND they are good for you!!
How you ask? Well… peanut butter is chock full of healthy fats and proteins, honey helps prevent cancer and heart disease, reduces ulcers, cough and throat irritation, increases athletic performance, regulates blood sugar, is a pro-biotic, helps keep skin beautiful, and if the honey is local, it also helps with allergies.  Almond pulp flour has a ton of fiber and dark chocolate is an antioxidant warehouse.

Definitely try these out sometime; if you don’t want to make your own almond pulp flour, you can find almond flour in the grocery store, but beware it can be expensive!

Stay beautiful my dears.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Paleo Breakfast Bars | azuremarie

Share Those Thoughts

