Brownie-Cookie Hybrid: Need I Say More?

Standard

… I don’t think so!  (Scroll to bottom for the eye candy final products)

For Valentine’s Day, I asked Max what he wanted me to bake for him, and his answer was “Cookie Brownies”. I wasn’t really sure what he meant by that… a brownie that has cookie, or a cookie that has brownie?? So I went to my go-to website, and the majority of the recipes were for cookies that had brownie, so that was what I went with.

I found this recipe, “Brownie-Swirled Chocolate Chip Cookies” and let me tell you – it is a winner!! Chocolate chip cookies and brownie batter from scratch… BOMB. Not exactly the healthiest baked good out there, but it’s Valentine’s Day, and that’s definitely an excuse to indulge! Not like Max has to watch his figure anyway… damn males. >_<

Step One: Cookie Batter

Step One: Cookie Batter

What was cool about this recipe is that it made enough to make a TON of the chocolate chip cookies with brownie swirled in, plus enough brownie batter left over to fill a 9X9 pan. Sooo basically I made a ton of delicious baked goods. Wahwahweewah.

Step 2: Swirled In

Step 2: Swirled In

Without further ado, here’s the recipe. Proceed to drool.

Brownie-Swirled Chocolate Chip Cookies
Prep time: 30 min | Cook time: 1 hour | Total time: 1 hour 30 min
Yield: ~ 36 cookies & 12 brownies

Ingredients:
For Ze Cookie Dough

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups semi-sweet mini chocolate chips

Now Ze Brownie Batter

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 2/3 cups dark chocolate chips
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional) – I went with walnuts because I love them.

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.

Prepare the cookie dough:

  1. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.
  2. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in a large mixer bowl until creamy.
  3. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  4. Gradually beat in flour mixture.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.

Prepare the brownie batter:

  1. Heat sugar, butter and water in a medium saucepan just to boiling, stirring constantly. Remove from heat.
  2. Add chocolate chips; stir until melted.
  3. Stir in eggs, one at a time, until blended.
  4. Stir in vanilla extract.
  5. Add flour, baking soda and salt; stir well.

Assemble the cookies:

  1. Transfer the cookie dough to a baking pan.
  2. Spread out the dough into a thin layer (you don’t have to fill up the pan; you’re just spreading out the dough to make it easier to scoop out the cookies).
  3. Drizzle 1/2 cup of brownie batter over the cookie dough.
  4. With a toothpick gently swirl the brownie batter into the dough. Go lightly on this for optimum swirling.
  5. Scoop out golf ball-sized amounts of dough with a cookie scoop or ice cream scoop. Do your best to keep the brownie batter on top so that your swirls will appear on the top surface of the cookie rather than on the bottom.
  6. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.
  7. Transfer the remaining brownie batter (add in nuts, if desired) to a greased 9″ x 9″ pan. Bake 15 to 18 minutes until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out slightly sticky. Cool in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars.
Walnut Brownies

Walnut Brownies

YUM

YUM

And there you have it!! Definitely make these bad boys, but be sure to share with others or you’ll have a lot of exercising to do to burn off those cals! Peace and l<3ve.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Lovely Red Weekend | azuremarie

Share Those Thoughts

