Fruits, Fruits, Magical Fruits

Standard

I was reading this article the other day that shed some light on when to best eat fruits, along with some other facts to know. It was an interesting piece, so I thought I would share some of the main pointers with y’all in case you were at all curious, which I hope you are!

Apparently, fruits are best eaten on an empty stomach, not after meals. When you eat fruits before other foods, they are able to travel directly to your intestines, helping detoxify your system and give you energy for weight loss. When you mix fruit with other foods in your stomach, they putrefy the other foods, producing gas and causing that dreaded bloating problem.

The article claims that eating fruits on an empty stomach will help alleviate grey hair, balding, nervous outbursts and dark circles, while aiding in beauty, longevity, health, energy, happiness and normal weight. Not sure the science behind all this, but I don’t doubt it. Another factoid that was brought up was that drinking cold water after a meal can actually lead to cancer. The cold water will solidify the oily things just consumed, which slows down digestion. Once the solidified oily sludge (oh, baby…) reacts with the acids in your stomach, it will break down and be absorbed by your intestines, but the sludge will line the intestines, turning into fats and “leading to cancer”. Now, I don’t know how true that is, but maybe stick to hot soup or warm water after meals for the time being.

Back on track; don’t cook your fruits. Personally, cooking fruits doesn’t ever cross my mind because I always opt for “fresh is best”, and warm fruits is just a little weird… unless in baked goods. At that point, you’re not trying to be healthy anyway, but we all have that sweet tooth we need to indulge from time-to-time. Cooking fruits destroys all the vitamins our bodies need, so just don’t do it!

Although juicing fruits is better than cooking them, eating whole fruits is the best route to take. If you are to drink the fresh juice (via a juicer, don’t take that canned nonsense they’re normally packed with sugars), then drinking it mouthfuls at a time is ideal, because I guess the juice needs to mix with your saliva before traveling down your pipes.

The author of the article, Hesh, then went on to give brief descriptions of various popular fruits and their benefits, which I mostly copied and pasted below:

Kiwi: Tiny but mighty. This is a good source of potassium, magnesium, vitamin E & fiber. Its vitamin C content is twice that of an orange.

Apple: Although an apple has a low vitamin C content, it has antioxidants & flavonoids which enhances the activity of vitamin C thereby helping to lower the risks of colon cancer, heart attack & stroke.

Strawberry: Protective Fruit. Strawberries have the highest total antioxidant power among major fruits & protect the body from cancer-causing, blood vessel-clogging free radicals.

Orange: Sweetest medicine. Taking 2-4 oranges a day may help keep colds away, lower cholesterol, prevent & dissolve kidney stones as well as lessens the risk of colon cancer.

Watermelon: Coolest thirst quencher. Composed of 92% water, it is also packed with a giant dose of glutathione, which helps boost our immune system. They are also a key source of lycopene — the cancer fighting oxidant. Other nutrients found in watermelon are vitamin C & Potassium.

Guava & Papaya: Top awards for vitamin C. They are the clear winners for their high vitamin C content. Guava is also rich in fiber, which helps prevent constipation. Papaya is rich in carotene; this is good for your eyes.

Well, there’s the low down on fruits and when to eat them! We use fruit a lot at the juice bar — mostly in our “blendz”, not so much in the juices — and I love devouring them, so you’ll be sure to see more info on them in the future. Peep the video below for funky fruits as well! Peace and love, mes amis.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

Share Those Thoughts

