Do-It-Yourself: Bath Salts

Standard

Bonjour!
I’m sure most of you heard about that ridiculous “zombie” man who took a ton of bath salts and then proceeded to eat the flesh of another man… well, I don’t promote cannibalism. Or ingesting things that are not made to be ingested.

However, for Christmas I wanted to create personalized presents for friends and family that could actually be utilized, so I decided to take a crack at making my own bath salts. Surprisingly, it was outrageously easy, and everyone seemed to like them. Success!

Milk & Oatmeal

Milk & Oatmeal

Want to learn how to do it yourself?

First, put 2 cups of epsom salts (or sea salt) into a ziplock bag. Then add 2 tablespoons of any kind of vegetable oil; I used extra virgin olive oil.
If you desire to add any kind of color, essential oils, powders or extracts to your bath salts, now is the time – and I totally encourage it! It doesn’t take much at all and the benefits are fantaaabulous; I added in two or three drops of food coloring/oils/extracts to each separate bag, and about a teaspoon of any powders.
Once you’ve added what you want, zip the bag and shake it up! Make sure nothing is clumping together and the color is evenly dispersed. That’s about it. I let mine air out, and once dried, put the mixtures in individual pint jars and made them cute and festive by decorating them and writing what scent/flavor each one was.
When ready to use, add 1/4 to 1/2 cup to a warm bath. Soak, and relax.

If you want any ideas on which scents and such to use, these are a few I did:
– Vanilla (blue)
– Nutmeg & cinnamon (pink) – Cinnamon is invigorating and warming, great for tired muscles and feet.
– Lavender (purple)
– Almond extract (yellow)
– Oatmeal & Milk** (green) – Milk Powder and Oatmeal are moisturizing and soothing to skin. Great for rashes/irritations/sunburns.
– Peppermint (red)
– Orange and lemon extract (orange)

Those are just a few, and I mixed and matched up the various oils and powders that I had to be creative. My favorite remains to be Lavender and Vanilla, though.

** For this one, I used 1/2 cup dried milk powder and 1/2 cup dried oatmeal then ground up the oats in a food processor (can use coffee grinder) and added that to the ziploc bag. You can also add a tablespoon of honey to this (it is a natural humectant, attracting moisture to the skin while soothing it) as well, but it was too clumpy and sticky for me to want to play with.

Happy relaxing and bathing! Gotta keep that skin clean, pampered and beautiful.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Pleasantly Pampered | azuremarie

Share Those Thoughts

