How Can You Not Like Muffins?

Standard

Ayo, folks!

First of all, in regards to the title of this post, go here. This is a website that my friends and I were smitten with way back in the day. If you don’t share my sense of humor you may find it dumb, but at least give it a test drive. At the very least I hope you get a giggle out of it.

Artsy Balls^ This set-up was at Anthropology, one of my favorite stores in existence. Unfortunately, I’m wayyy too broke to buy pretty much anything in the store, but I still enjoy looking around and potentially stealing their artsy ideas. Like this Ball Jar Snow-Globey type thing, for example. Easy and adorable!

Fuzzy Wuzzy^ I want all those plates and dishes for my future home. That is all.

On another note, I’m starting this new breakfast foods kick. Basically, while I’m home with access to a fully-stocked kitchen (less than a week left now, eep!), I want to cook as many breakfast foods as I can, so I will have a nice arsenal when I get back to Burlington. Yesterday, my theme was muffins, but I also want to try things like eggs, croissants and bread… and just about everything else people eat on a regular basis for breakfast. I want to try and make things that can last for a few days, so when I wake up every morning I will already have these foods ready and waiting for me = more sleep, less fuss. Who doesn’t like that?

Let’s talk about the muffins I made; I only had time for two different kinds, but that’s a step in the right direction!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oreo Muffins

Oreo Muffins

Oreo Muffins
Ingredients:
wet ingredients:
– 1 egg
– 3/4 cup milk
– 2/3 cup vegetable oil

dry ingredients:
– 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
– 3/4 cup sugar
– 2 teaspoon baking powder
– 1/4 teaspoon salt

more:
– 26 Oreo cookies
– 250ml double cream

Directions:
Wet and dry ingredients mix together and add 12 crushed Oreo cookies, mix again and pur into  the muffin pan.
Bake for 20 minutes in 356F.

Beat the cream and decorate top part of muffin with it, place on the top one Oreo cookie.

*Now, my muffins didn’t have the cream and extra Oreo on top. Mostly because I didn’t have the double cream in my pantry, and also there were a bunch of Oreo’s in there already… and I’m trying to not get obese at the ripe age of 21. Oui.*
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gingerbread Muffins

Gingerbread Muffins

GINGERBREAD MUFFINS

Makes – 6 large muffins (I made 9 regular muffins)

Ingredients

1 stick softened butter
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 tablespoon mixed spice
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
pinch of salt
1/4 cup milk
1 cup self raising flour

Method

Preheat oven to 200C. Line a 6-hole large muffin tin with paper cases.

Place butter, sugar, vanilla extract and salt in a large bowl. Beat until light and fluffy. Add eggs, ginger, cinnamon and mixed spice. Beat for a minute.

Add flour and milk and beat until well combined. Spoon mixture in muffin cases until each is 2/3rds full. Sprinkle extra cinnamon on top (optional).

Bake in oven for approximately 15 minutes until cooked through, risen and golden brown on top. Remove from oven and cool in cases on wire rack.

Serve dusted with icing sugar.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Well, there is the start of my brekkie food collection. Stay tuned for more, as there will definitely be some.
I just finished my homework for my on-line class, and it’s not even 13h00 yet… wooo go me! I still have a bunch of crap to do before I go back up to Vermont, and with less than a week left it’s starting to make me nervous.
Instead of doing anything productive though, I am going to watch and episode of Dexter, cook some more, then go to the gym and some trampoline place with Max. I’ll let cha know how it goes! My apologies for the quick post, but it’s better than nothing.

Apple Turkey Melt

Apple Turkey Melt

x’s and o’s, my peeps.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

