Don’t Go Killing That Vibe

Standard

Don’t go killin’, killin’ the vibe
I can’t take your lame style
Can’t you just sit a while
And try your hardest to smile?

Hi babies. This song is awesome, and I’m kind of obsessed (thanks Sarah), so you should probably check it out — it’s called “Killin’ The Vibe” by Ducktails.

My biff is cooler than yours

My bffl is cooler than yours

Anyway, hope y’all are doing well! I’ve been going h.a.m. at the gym lately; Max has me lifting weights so naturally my body is sore practically all over, but in a really good feeling way. I can’t boast too much, but for being a lankier, 130lb girl, I’m making progress. Usually I will just bench lift the bar, which is 45lbs, and I don’t go much over 40lbs for anything else. Gotta start somewhere! Soon I’ll be getting nice and strong. Womp.

Cute Weiney Dog

I can’t believe it’s already January 5th, noo! That means I have to end my break in like a week. Granted, I don’t have a very heavy course load next semester… but I feel like my stay in Rhode Island has been too short. I’ve also been taking an on-line 1 credit course since Christmas, which also eats up some of my time. The class is pretty interesting though, and I’ll definitely dedicate a post to all the useful stuff I have learned from it.

Meow

Let’s see… what have I been doing in the last few days? Yesterday was pretty jam packed — I had spent the previous night as Max’s house in Narragansett, so I had to wake up early, get my homework and reading done for the day (blah), and then head back home so I could clean the barn before my day plans were set in motion.

After doing all the horsey stuff, I went and picked Sarah and Katie up and we went to Newport!  I love Newport; it’s so beautiful and the houses there are huge and gorgeous, definitely visit it if any of you are ever in Rhode Island. Ocean Drive is not something to miss. We spent a few hours there — long enough to drive around, explore for a while on the Cliff Walk and see the sunset over the ocean. Not bad, huh?

Pink EauWaterfallSunsetAwesome Clouds

After my afternoon in Newport, I went home for like 20 minutes then was out the door again with my Mom, Kiley, Brenna and Logan to head to my Grandparents house for a surprise dinner; they’re leaving to spend the next few months in Florida, so we met up with my Aunt, Uncle and Cousins and just hung out and ate some good food and drank some tasty wine. We stayed there for a few hours, then once we got back to my house I was out the door once more to go to Mollie’s house to spend the night with her and Molly. Beer was drank, we went nekkid in the hot tube, and good times were had.

Love is LifeOf course since it is break, I’ve been eating some good food lately. I haven’t been cooking as much as I would like – people in my life take up that time – but my mom is still a fabulous cook, and I’ve been gorging. For example:
Steak & Couscous stuffed PepperThat was pretty dank, if I do say so myself. Sarah and I also made these awesome cookies (along with mulled wine) the other day, I’ll post the recipe below in case you feel like re-creating it. Way worth your while, trust me.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monster Cookies

Monster Cookies

Ingredients:

2 extra large eggs
1 1/4 cups light brown sugar
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup nutella
1/2 tsp instant espresso coffee granules
3/4 cup flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 stick butter, softened
3/4 cup M&M’s
3/4 cup chocolate chip morsels
1/2 cup pecans, chopped
3 1/2 cups oatmeal

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a mixing bowl whisk the eggs and sugars until creamy about 3 minutes. Add the salt, vanilla extract, nutella, instant espresso, flour, baking soda and butter. Using a spoon stir the ingredients until it is well mixed.

Stir in the m&m’s, chocolate chip morsels, pecans and oatmeal.

Using a cookie scoop or spoon drop tablespoon size drops onto a silicone mat or cookie sheet.

Bake for 8 minutes and then remove to let cool for 2 minutes on pan. Then remove with spatula to wire rack to finishing cooling.

*Cookies will be thinner than normal just be sure to not over bake.*
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

They sound pretty good, right? RIGHT. Being 21 and wine lovers (I mean, I did just get back from France), we made mulled wine with these spices my mom recently bought.

Mulled Wine

Also, I have a new goal in mind, folks: I want to start a wine and beer journal. Since I can now legally drink, I want to take advantage of all the microbreweries Vermont has to offer, and I just want to experiment with different kinds of spirits. I think I’m going to make it a new tab on this blog, so stay tuned for that. I don’t really have any idea how to start one of these journals, but I’ll do some research and get back to you.

Max & My Yankee Swap Gifts

Max & My Yankee Swap Gifts

Well, I think that’s all for now my friends. I’m hungry… so I’m going to go raid my cupboards and cook up something delectable. Until next time!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

