Christmastime in Strasbourg, France

Standard

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I’m on a roll with these posts lately. Maybe I’ll be caught up by the weeks end. In actuality, I should be studying for my Culture and Society exam on Monday because I’m totally screwed for it, but I’ll get around to that eventually. Moving on…

Friday, November 23rd: After getting a solid nights sleep (which was totally necessary), I woke up and made my way to the bus stop, Grand Sablon, for 9h30 and started the 8hour bus trek to Strasbourg, France, Yes…. it was a very long day. Thankfully, it was broken up by a pit stop in the Jura Mountains, where we munched on some tasty cheese at the Maison du Comte, which is a very famous cheese here in France. Also, if you know the Laughing Cow cheese, you will be familiar with the “lesser quality” Comte cheese. It was all quite delicious, and nice to stretch our legs.

Fromage, YummyMini-Farm Of Cheese

All too soon, it was time to pile back onto the bus and finish our trip. Being the self-established princess that I am (I’m half kidding…), I claimed a big chunk of the “saloon” in the back of the bus, so I was able to bounce back and forth between playing Uno with the fam and napping, using Max as a pillow. All-in-all, it was a pretty pleasant trip considering the length.

We finally arrived at our destination around 20h30, and we were STARVING. As soon as we dropped off our things at the hotel, a big group of us bee-lined it to try and find food, and find a place to buy wine. The wine search was a fail, as was the food… no one could seem to commit to a place to eat. We ended up walking around and soaking in the sites. Eventually, it ended up being Preston, Richard, Kaitlyn, Ellisa and myself at a very tasty Kebab place. I wanted to try and eat a Strasbourg specialty, but hunger won out… plus, we had the rest of the weekend. When my hunger was finally tamed, we spent a good deal of time exploring Strasbourg once again; it was beautiful with lights strung everywhere, I couldn’t get enough. We also arrived there on the opening day of the famous Strasbourg Marche de Noel, so the positive energy was infectious.

How Beautiful Is That?Oh la laLit Up!

As the night progressed, our large group dwindled down to solely Emily, Richard, Preston and myself, and we decided to explore the nightlife a little and go out for a drink. We ended up all splitting the largest pitcher of blue liquid I’ve ever seen! It was delicious, pretty, and was gone in a few minutes. Mmm. Afterwards we decided it was time to call it a night, for we all had an early and long day ahead of us. Day one in Strasbourg, complete. Little Boxes...!!!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Christmastime in Strasbourg, France | Home Far Away From Home

Share Those Thoughts

