“What’s our plan for tonight?” “Live”

Standard

Oh la la, désolée mes amis, mais j’étais très occupée cette semaine passée!

Sorry for the miniscule amount of French lovelies; I want to start writing some blogs in French to keep up with the language slash put it to good use, but I’ll make them random ones that don’t have to do with my day-to-day life so my American peeps can actually comprehend what I’m saying. Anyway, time to focus. My apologies for the lack of communication this past week, I’m living it up too much 😉 don’t hate me for it.

Monday, October 29th: Technically, this whole week was a vacation week for France, a holiday called Toussaint, but of course us international kids had to have class… LAMESAUCE. Well, not all classes, which was nice at least, but my regular language class still met today, so I was in class from 10h40 to 12h30. My culture and society class (14h-15h30) still met this day, but I decided that since the French could be on vacation, so could I… so I skipped. Hannah, being the supreme student that she is, didn’t skip, and she was kind enough to sign my name for me, so I still get credit. Wahwahweewah.

I had the intention of going home after lunch and taking a nap, but I realized I wasn’t sleepy, so instead I met up with some API peeplettes at the French Coffeeshop to get my homework done (we have a weekly-ish homework assignment for my language class that gets intensely graded so I did some of it) and start studying for my first grammar test. EW. I hung around, blogged a bit, and then went home to have dinner with Madeleine and study some more/work more on my homework. I can’t say I studied intensely hard for it, but even looking at my notes is a great deal more than I usually do. However, since I had a big exam the next day, I went to bed early so I would have a full nights rest. Party on.

Tuesday, October 30th: Another usually painful day made a bit easier thanks to the French and their vacations. My translation class and my literature class didn’t meet this day, so I just had class from 8h30-12h30… which I mean, still isn’t fun, but I survived. Actually, my classmates brought in SNACKS, and snacks make everything better. Mike made milk and dark chocolate Oreo truffles and Miro brought in these Japanese cinnamon cracker stick things, both of which were delectable. I also got two truffles so I was doubly contented. BOO-YAH.

Unfortunately, after the tasty snacks we had to take our grammar exam… I can’t say I was pleased. We ended up getting the results back today though and I got a 13.5, which is a B+/A-, so I’m not totally bummed about it. Still though, I’m a perfectionist and got A+’s on my other two exams thus far, so this kind of brings down my average. Oh well, grammar sucks balls anyway – too bad it’s crucial.

Post-class and exams, Hannah, Mike, Jeremy, Olivia and I headed to centre ville for some Burgers & Cie, aka our favorite burrito/burger stomping ground. I ordered the cowboy burger (how American of them), which had BBQ sauce and tomato and lettuce and all that jazz, plus frites. It was dank and reminded me of home, so gypsy mission = success. From there, you can probably guess where we went… that’s correct. French Coffeeshop; honestly, they should give us free muffins or something for all the money we give them.

I hung around there for a few hours and got my big homework assignment done, and then Max showed up and I left with him to go carve a pumpkin. Wooooot.

Well, if we’re being technical, Max carved the pumpkin; I just gutted it, separated the seeds and told him that the design had to be a unicorn (licorne in French). Obviously. It came out pretty awesome though, his artistic skills are much better than mine… if I had tried to carve that the unicorn most likely would have looked demented. Afterwards, I had to go home and have dinner with Madeleine, followed by some Game of Thrones and a good nights sleep.

Wednesday, October 31st aka HALLOWEEN (!!!): Okay, Americans who read this: Halloween is indeed an international holiday. Granted, other countries aren’t weird like us and dress up their children and go door-to-door begging for candy, but they do indeed celebrate it. In France, mostly it’s an excuse to party, dress like a freak/slut and get drunk… who can argue with that?

I tried to take a picture… but it was kind of a fail

Anyway, I had class from 8h30-10h20, where we watched a movie about some guy who mildly stalks this girl then my weekend arrived (no classes on Thursday and Friday thanks to Toussaint)! Apres je suis sortie a centre ville, I went to Batman Kebab with Nina to get my last Kebab from there for a month 😦 so sad. They’re closing until the first week in December for renovations, so I had to savor every bite. They didn’t disappoint. Per usual, once done gorging, I stopped by the shop – that’s what I may start referencing the coffeeshop as, I’ve decided – for an hour or two to check my e-mail and do all those real life things, then I went home to take the necessary nap, pre-festivities.

I racked out for about two hours I would say, then woke up, started getting ready for the nuit and had dinner with Madeleine. After dinner, I finished donning my costume (I was a French maid, considering the country I’m staying in) then headed to Richard’s with Max to start the night. For a while it was just Richard, Max, Hannah and I, so as per API custom we played Kings and started the night off right. Hannah and I started off by splitting Jack Daniels and Coke, chyeahh. Needless to say by the time the others arrived (Nina, Emily, Evelyn, Preston, and Kaitlyn… forgive me if I’m forgetting anyone. It feels like a lifetime ago) we were starting to buzzbuzz. Nina and Emily had pre-pre-gamed at Nina’s with a giant bottle of wine though, so we weren’t the only ones. Also somehow Max got hammered, and we didn’t end up leaving Richard’s house until almost 1h00. Woo.

From Richard’s, the group splintered, and Richard, Emily, Nina, Hannah, Preston and I made our way to Theatro, the club/bar where we went the weekend before for the Halloween Party. It was pretty freaking dead though, so we only stayed long enough to take some drunk pictures, then we made our way to the infamous Vieux Manoir. At this point it was just Nina, Hannah and I, so we danced our costumed bootay’s off in the club until I was exhausted and ready to call it a night. Hannah ended up sleeping over, and thus ends Halloween in Grenoble, France. Zut alors.

*Note: While waiting outside of Vieux Manoir for our friends close to the end of the night, I was approached by a native French guy named Hugo who asked me if the “Dressage” on my jacket was the horse sport. Of course, we we’re instantly friends because he knew what Dressage was. Turns out he is from Marseille, which further cemented the obsession. We ended up exchanging numbers and chatting some more, but alas, my interest faded after he came out with us Halloween weekend. Gave me a chance to practice French, at least.

Thursday, November 1st: Woke up and refused to get out of bed for a small chunk of time. Surprisingly, I wasn’t really hung over, but I was pretty damned exhausted, which brews the same I’m-never-moving-ever-again feeling. Eventually, Hannah went home to shower and be a normal human, and around lunchtime Nina texted me saying she was in need of a burrito, so I was forced to start moving with the rest of the world. We wanted to go to Burgers & Cie, but they broke our hearts by being closed, so we went next door to this other place instead. I should really remember the name, but alas I can’t. Regardless, I ordered a tasty falafel, and then Nina and I just putzed around Grenoble for a while. Since it was an actual holiday not much was open, and the streets were eerily dead.

Eventually, Nina wanted to go home and gather her belongings (Madeleine left this morning, so Nina was spending the weekend with me at my apartment), and I finally caved and bought black boots! They aren’t real leather, I’m too broke for that, but these are cute in my opinion, and they were only about 22 euro, which made them in my price range, so purchased they were.

Emily’s cousin Peter from Denmark arrived around 19h30, so after he dropped his stuff off at the hotel he was staying at, Emily, Peter, Nina, Mike and I all went out to dinner at an amazingly tasty restaurant called Chez Meme Paulette, famous for it’s tartines, which is essentially a grilled piece of bread with a medley of delicious things cooked on top. I stupidly deleted the picture of my main course, but it was a tartine with jambon cru, pommes, et une type du fromage que j’oublie(for my english friends: thinly sliced ham with apples and some yummy cheese). It was amazingly delicious… and then we decided to have dessert :0

Emily’s Dessert

My dessert

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I opted to have warm pears and dark chocolate sauce with cinnamon on a tartine… yeah, it was awesome. Emily went for the house specialty: lavender creme brulee, which was equally as epic. Obviously, we will be going back; it was cheap too which was an added bonus. Score! We didn’t end up finishing dinner until close to 23h00, so afterwards Nina and I just went back to my apartment and went to bed. After Halloween night, drinking was most definitely not on the agenda… plus the whole weekend was ahead of us.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well guys… that has to to be it for now. At least now I’m less than a week behind. I’m uploading my paragliding picture as I type this, so hopefully that can be accomplished before my computer dies (I have :19 left, so it’s up in the air). It’s only like 7h15 in the morning for y’all right now, so most of you aren’t even awake yet, but enjoy your day when you! kisses and hugs.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

