We’re All A Little Strange

Standard

Saturday, October 6th: My body decided to suck and I woke up at 9h, unable to fall back asleep. Nina and I had plans to meet up after lunch to go shopping, so until then I moseyed around the apartment at a snails pace and eventually made my way to Victor Hugo with my lovely hula to get some much needed hooping in. Turns out Emily and Mike were there, and Mike had brought his brand new acoustic guitar, so I was 100% content to listen to him play/sing (he’s good, which is definitely a bonus) and hoop dance to the music. Of course we got a plethora of stares, and I really need to remember to bring a hat next time and try to actually collect some cash money.

Hilarious French Graffiti

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Turns out that it was hot as balls, so after Mike, Emily, Richard and Max left to hike up the Bastille, I went back home to change into shorts (can you believe it, shorts and a t-shirt in October?! I love it here) and then headed back to the park to wait for Nina and commence the shopping excursion. We went into some awesome boutiques and spent money we don’t really have (yay being broke), but you only live once, and I of course convinced myself I needed everything that I bought (c’est la verite, non?). Peep the pics for the visual booty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After exhausting our wallets, we stumbled upon the most awesome cookie store ever where we got raspberry milkshakes and cookies, of course. I choose an apple streusel-ish one, which was drool worthy, and you can bet your ass that I will be going back there to taste as many as possible.

After practically licking the crumbs off of the napkin, we made went to buy some champagne for the nights festivities… because who doesn’t love getting swilly off of champagne? From there I had to power walk back to my apartment, change into some pants, drop off my goods and hurry over to the French Coffeeshop to skype Sarah – a date that was long overdue. We caught up until the battery on my phone died/the shop closed, which was convenient timing because by then I was starving. I made it to around the corner and caved in, stopping at the closest place that looked tasty.

Great success. I think the name of the place was Bakanan, but I’m not entirely positive. Regardless, I got a chicken “taco”, which in Grenoble is a burrito, and it had fries inside! Nomnomnom. Max and Nina met me there, and after we finished eating, we made it to – you guessed it – V. Huges (yes, I just made up a nickname for the park), where Nina and I popped our Champagne (we split three bottles, don’t judge… it was our amount for the evening), buzzbuzz.

By 22hish, we figured it was time for the event of the evening… The Strange Carnival!

I really had no idea what to expect, and it was definitely an experience. The venue was called Ampherage, which should be explanation enough. There was a man with a live snake, pictures/art projects scattered in random rooms, the main concert area/bar, and then a pretty sizable outside area to get some air/smoke cigs for those who do desire (gag). Of course, since Nina and I were riding the champagne wave, we were social butterflies (I’m pretty positive Nina started it, it’s her MO), but we ended up making a few French friends. I got the numbers of two of them (Clement and Johan), and I’m looking forward to potentially being able to speak French with some locals. They’re English isn’t the greatest, which is nice because that will pretty much force me into French. The Clement guy sent me a broken English text Sunday night asking me out to dinner with him, which was flattering. I asked the boyfriend if I was allowed to, and I actually got permission (not that he was extremely pleased, but a yes is a yes); I’m going to try to make it as un-date-like as possible… but I mean, come on, who doesn’t like a free dinner? Not I sir, not I. We’ll see how that plays out.

Now for the highlight of my evening at the carnival… I crowd-surfed!! It was so much better than regular crowd-surfing, though. Basically, the lead singer of the band (they were of the rock genre, and wore skeleton masks, I dug it) asked – in French, of course – for a girl. Being me, I rose my hand in excitement, and although I wasn’t even in the front, the singer pointed at me, and before I knew it was I walking up on the stage with absolutely no idea what to expect. I told him that I wasn’t that good at French yet and if this was a participation thing there was going to be a minor issue, but he just told me it was fine and then I saw it… an inflatable pool bed. YES. He placed it on the crowd, and just told me to go. The first attempt was not quite a success, the crowd wasn’t ready, so he pulled me back up on stage and told me to go again. This time it worked! I chilled on my pool float all the way to the back of the crowd and then they turned me around and I made it all the way back to the front. I didn’t even get dropped; I was nicely lowered down. Upon landing on my feet, I realized that one of my flip-flops was gone; I was sad, and not looking forward to the walk home, but before I could dwell on it any longer a boy found me, and handed me my flip-flop! Honestly, I love everybody here. They’re so cool – don’t make me leaveee. So yeah, that was my Strange Carnival experience. Clement also bought me a cupcake, which was just adding epicness to awesomeness. We left at lord knows what time, hiked back to Centre Ville, and I had a nice sleep. SAHWEET.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

