Don’t You Let Regret Take Place Of The Dreams You Have To Chase

Standard

When my heart won’t tell my mind to tell my mouth what it should say.

^ Zac Brown Band + Alan Jackson = a pretty gosh darn beautiful song. If you aren’t into country music.. well, that’s 100% your loss, and I feel bad for you. As I’ve mentioned, I love all kinds of music, and that includes the under-appreciated country genre — I lurrve it. Even if you detest country, I strongly urge you to take a listen to Zac Brown Band; even better: SEE THEM LIVE! Probably some of the best performers I’ve ever seen (and that’s saying a lot since I kind of consider myself a seasoned concert goer) they just have such a good vibe all the time, and they just make you smile.

MUSIC ALERT: Speaking of Zac Brown Band, they released a new album last month, “Uncaged“. I would tell you how awesome it is myself, but I think Zac describes it best (as he should, since he made it): “A little bit of happy, a little bit of inspiration, a little bit of groove –  you might even want to make a baby in the middle of the record.” So yeah, take a listen, you won’t regret it. Aaand, just so you don’t wuss out on me, here’s one of their videos; a solid summer tune.

So now that one of my passions has been addressed, let’s talk about another: FOOD. I didn’t work until 5pm on Thursday, and the boyfriend had the day off, so I volunteered the idea of berry picking. It’s been on my to-do list this summer, and raspberry season is finally in full swing! **FYI: Raspberry season around here starts the first week or so in August and goes until September/first frost, so take advantage! I wanted a place that had raspberries and blackberries ready to pick, so the winning farm was Barden Family Orchard in North Scituate. Not gonna lie, it was not exactly up to my standards. There was no bathroom, the credit card machine didn’t work, and the girl who was situating us was either too young to be working or just not capable of costumer service. No matter. The only important thing was the berries, and the berries did not let us down! We each picked (there were 3 of us) a cartoon of raspberries and blackberries, and I probably ate about 20 whilst picking. nomnomnom. I sort of forgot to take pictures of the goods before I started baking, so here’s the best I could do as far as visuals:

What is the creation on the left, you ask?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BLACKBERRY CORNBREAD

Ingredients

  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 7 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups blackberries

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees . Grease 8-inch square baking dish. In large bowl, whisk together cornmeal, flour, 1/4 cup sugar, baking powder and salt. In another bowl, whisk together buttermilk, eggs and butter, then stir into flour mixture. Spread batter into prepared baking dish. Scatter 1 cup berries over top and press them into batter until mostly submerged; scatter remaining berries on top and sprinkle with remaining sugar. Bake until golden around the edges and springy to touch, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool, 10 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Looks pretty darn delicious, yes? You are correct. How can you go wrong with cornbread AND freshly picked blackberries? Well… you can’t. The raspberries are going to be turned into jam, hopefully. I kind of need Max’s berries as well, so I’m hoping they haven’t been eaten yet. We shall see.

Okay, well I think I’m going to go enjoy my first free Saturday evening in like, forever! I worked this morning instead, huzzah. Happy Saturday, everyone! Go do something fun or bake something tasty.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

