Sit Me Down, Shut Me Up

Standard

There is a world out there that can only be seen when you step into it. It’s important to realize that though you may think your ways are better, other people think the same thing about their ways. Life isn’t about having one set of eyes to see through, it’s about having a bunch of different glasses so you can see the different colors of the world.

^ Pretty fresh idea, yeah? I like it anyway. I’M LEAVING FOR FRANCE SO SOON. I got my orientation packet in the mail yesterday, plus I started my online orientation and the above quote was something that one of the prior students had said. I thought it was beautifully worded, hence it got some recognition.

Anyway, France. Oh man. I’m so excited about the home I’m living in! It’s a single woman who owns an antique shop and lives in an apartment in the city center of Grenoble. Wow-wee. It’s like a 20-30 minute tram ride to the University, and it’s a 5 minute walk to the tram stop from my apartment. I get my own room with a balconyholler. Plus, I get breakfast and dinner at the apartment every day AND I don’t even have to do my own laundry! What? Grade A service right there, living the liiife. Needless to say, I can’t wait. Enough about what’s to come… that can wait as the day steadily comes nearer.

My grandparents are big wine drinkers (a trait that has been passed down to me), and they got it into their heads that I collect wine corks. I don’t, but I must have said something one day about how I liked corks (?) – I don’t know – regardless, they now save their corks and have bestowed on me a shitton of those little fellas. For the passed year or so, they have been forgotten and gathering dust in the abyss of my room.
However, I recently decided that I want to have a yard sale (if you live in the East Greenwich/Rhode Island area COME! It will be the weekend of the 25th, the day depending on the weather, and I am getting my neighbors involved so it will be a neighborhood affair) so I have slowly been chipping away at random sections of junk in my room that have been neglected. This is when I came across the two bags stuffed full of wine corks.
I had the morning off (yippee), so instead of being a lard or something I decided to get artsy and research fun things to make out of corks. My first choice was a cork curtain, where you string together a bunch of corks and beads and boom a curtain is formed. I didn’t enough corks for the job though, plus I was lacking in the bead department. Thus, I went with my second choice: a cork board! The classic, right?. The amount of corks in the bag was deceiving, so I didn’t get to make one as big as I wanted, but the result was pretty cool regardless. Peep it out.

I think it came out pretty cool. However, my new goal is to lessen my artifactual (yes, I just made that word up, roll with it) load, so I was a nice girlfriend and decided to make it for Max. Being a boy, he has virtually no clutter besides clothes, so I have been slowly accumulating things for him to spice up his living quarters. This has now been added to the collection. Now I just have to urge my family to drink more wine so I can make my curtain…

Random side note, but I’m sick and it sucks. So send all your healing vibes my way, please. I was a vegetarian for four years, and I have asthma plus shitty allergies, so for a while I was pretty prone to getting pneumonia. I had it twice freshman year up at school, and once (I think) sophomore year, but then last summer I decided to get back on the meat eating bandwagon, and junior year I escaped the evil clutches of pneumonia. At this point though, I am a resident professional at reading the early signs of the dreaded sickness. So for the passed week, my throat was a little sore. No big deal, right? Right. I assumed allergies, but then three days ago a cough started rearing its ugly head, and soon after came the nasty wheezing where my lungs sound like they’re drowning. At that point I started getting nervous, so off to the doctors I went. Thankfully, I caught it early enough that it isn’t pneumonia yet, but I have to take extra precautions which includes a nebulizer twice a day and inhalers up the wazoo. Mersauce. Whatever, better than putting antibiotics in my body! I hate that stuff.

You guys probably don’t know what a nebulizer is if you’re healthy, so here’s a picture for a visual:
It’s loud and annoying – one of my cats FREAKED out when I turned it on – and the medicine definitely messes with my head and makes me giggly, but oh well. While I was looking for a picture though, I came across this gem:
Like, WHAT?! If I was a child and had this, I would have been way more apt to place a strange purple mask over my face and breathe in noxious fumes. Who can say no to a dragon?!

Well, that’s all I’ve got for the moment. I’m working on my next Oh, Hobby Dearest article for DIG, it focuses on Aerialsand should be pretty cool when it’s finished. I hope so, anyway. Oh! Last thing; I’ve been contemplating getting a tattoo for some time now, and last night Sarah proposed that we get friendship tattoos…. in the form of a unicorn. Obviously I said yes, since a unicorn is what I have wanted anyway (they exist). But I have no idea where on my body to put it — ideally, I would want it behind my ear, but it’s too small of a space for the level of detail I want. Soooo, I am open to any suggestions you may have!

Love, peace and afrogrease.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

