Just because you caught me, does that make it a sin?

Standard

Wassup peeps?!
I don’t work until 5:00 tonight, so I’ve got the morning and afternoon off — woo! Hopefully I will be going to Goddard Park for a nice hula hooping session; if the weather holds out, that is. Crossing my fingers.

Let’s see… what have I been up to lately? Did my usual Boston stuff yesterday and Tuesday. I finished up writing my series dubbed The Coffeehouse Chronicles. I haven’t sent in my final piece for it yet (though I already wrote it), so I’ll post a link here when that goes live – it will probably be next week. Now, I’m focusing on my second series called Oh, Hobby Dearest where I talk about out-of-the-ordinary hobbies. So far, I’ve done one on hula hooping and larping, and yesterday finished one up on zumba. That hasn’t gone live yet either, so stay tuned. I also ventured to Cambridge yesterday to interview this awesome girl Rachel who does aerials… it was so cool! I haven’t quite finished that article up yet, so that won’t get done until next week. Simultaneously, I’m working on other hobby pieces: one on juggling and another on couponing. I love this kind of stuff =)

Also: I LEAVE FOR FRANCE IN EXACTLY ONE MONTH. AH!! I can’t believe the summer is almost over. I’m sad about that, but at the same time… I’m going to be in mo’effing EUROPE. Holy shiiit. I really need to get cracking on preparing for that… so crazy.

Last week, I went to the French Consulate in Boston to get my visa ducks in a row… still waiting on that. It’s so outrageous how picky they are. I had to re-send in my flight information and an e-mail because they only had my last name on the papers instead of my full name. Poppycock, but whatever. Hopefully by today they will have everything they need and within 2 weeks I will have my passport with a visa inside.. eee!
Also last week at Sara’s, we decided to be chefs and made some pretty delicious Spanish Chicken and Chorizo Paella, and I went to the farmer’s market with a girl I intern with and bought a scrumptious Triple Berry Pie. I’ll attach the recipe below, and you can also drool over the beautiful look of the pie we munched (which I had for breakfast, too)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Spanish Chicken and Chorizo Paella
Yield: 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 chicken, cut legs, drumsticks and thighs
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 large green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 4 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 pound Spanish style chorizo links, cut into slices on the bias
  • 2 cups short-grain rice (recommended: Valencia or Arborio)
  • Pinch saffron threads
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen green peas
  • Lemon wedges, for service

Directions

Heat a paella pan or very large, shallow skillet or pot, preferably with 2 handles over high heat.

Cook’s note: A large cast iron skillet would work here.

Pour in the olive oil and let it heat up. Season the chicken all over with salt, pepper and paprika. Sear in the olive oil until browned all over. Transfer to a plate with tongs.

Lower the heat to medium and saute the onions and bell pepper until softened. Stir in the diced tomatoes, chicken broth, and chorizo. Bring the liquid to a boil and then stir in the rice and saffron. Add the browned chicken pieces. The rice should be completely covered with liquid. Cook the paella without stirring for 20 minutes. When the liquid has all been absorbed, pour the peas over the top of the pot, turn off the heat and cover the pot with a kitchen towel. Let stand 5 minutes and then serve with lemon wedges.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I totally recommend trying to make some Paella; it doesn’t hurt to be ethnically diverse! We had a bit f trouble with the rice cooking fully, but in the end we prevailed. Huzzah.

This Tuesday in Boston I came across my new favorite place to hang out and relax: The Berkeley Street Community Garden. It’s amazing and beautiful and smells like happiness and summertime. Basically I love it. Obviously, I took a solid amount of pictures, so check them out in the gallery below. I’m sure there are tons of other places just as nice as this in Boston, but this happens to be en route to and from work, so I get to walk through it twice a day. So nice.

Hokayyy, well I gotta be off. Goddard Park play time =) Go outside today and enjoy the weather while the rain is away!
Peace and loveeee.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

