99 Red Balloons: Hot Air Balloon Festival

Standard

Happy Olympics, everyone!!
I hope you all got a chance to watch the opening ceremony, which was uhh… interesting, to say the least. I can’t decide if my favorite was the Queen jumping out of a helicopter with James Bond, or the giant ass (100ft tall) Lord Voldemort during the dream/nightmare skit. Regardless, it was a typical dose of London weirdness and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Unfortunately, I haven’t really had a chance to watch the sports yet — well, besides right now; I watched a USA female Olympian win gold for Skeet Shooting and now I’m watching some Badminton and Soccer. I thought that the Equestrian event for Dressage was today at 10:00am but of course I neglected to realize that was London time, so I missed it unfortunately. Does anyone know if its possible to watch passed events on the Olympic website? I know you can watch it live but that doesn’t really do me much good if the event already happened. BALLS.

So, last Sunday (7/22), Sarah and I went to the South County Balloon Festival, which was fun but kind of a fail. You see, they only launch the hot air balloons at dawn and dusk, and we were so not willing to arrive in Kingston at 6:00am. No thank you. Instead, we figured we would make the launch at dusk. We got to the festival (which was more like a carnival) at noon, stayed for a solid chunk of time to witness fun events and just lamp in the sun (it was beautiful out) and then I had to go home for dinner. The hot air balloons were to be launched at 7:00pm and there was supposed to be tethered balloon rides and they were supposed to stay up in the air for a while. Of course, with my family never running on time, we were a little late and got to the field at 7:30… there were no cars in the lot and the whole festival was already packed up! After swearing and being extremely upset, I was kind of confused as to why the whole place was already shut down. After checking the website though, they stated that hot air balloons can’t get launched in anything more than a light breeze, and today happened to be especially windy. So unfortunately, we never got to see the actual hot air balloons, but hey.. it comes around every year. Regardless, it was a lot of fun, and I have some videos and pictures to share from that day! Hope you like =)

^There were a few ginormous kites at the festival, and here’s a video of my personal favorite. It’s so awesome how the wind makes it look like it’s creepily moving. I dig.

^THIS WAS AWESOME. I’ve never been in a hot air balloon (I feel like I’m part of the majority on that one), so this is the closest I’ve ever been to enjoying the sheer size and awesomeness of a hot air balloon. They just had this set up at the festival; it was a giant hot air balloon with a huge fan powering it… so so cool.

^Haha, “The Cannon Lady”. I must say, it was an awful lot of hype for a not so cool trick. Yes, I understand it is a pretty big feat to get shot out of a cannon and land on a net, but they talked it up a bit too much for my liking. Either way it was a site to see, whether or not it was solely for comedic effect.

Hokay, and below you will see the few pictures I took at the festival. I’ve gotten pretty into instagram lately, so the majority of the pictures I took were with my phone and uploaded onto my account (xoxgirouxox if you’re interested), hence why there’s only about five here. The guy who had all the animals was pretty hilarious, and being an animal lover I didn’t want to leave the tent. They also had a Fennec fox, which are one of my favorite animals… needless to say, I fell in love and wanted to release her from her iron prison. Poor baby =/

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

